Singkwenta pesos

17 54
Avatar for Meyzee
Written by
2 years ago

Prompt Entry.

FRUIT OF LABOR - PROOF OF LABOR

Singkwenta pesos- Fifty pesos - One dollar.

"Company ID or Certificate of employment please?" The guard asked for an identification card before I can enter inside the MRT. New protocol huh?

"Heres my CoE Maam, I forgot my ID"

"Can I see any valid ID Maam?"

I handed my Professional license ID secured to my wallet and my Certificate of Employment.

Whenever I stare at the little piece, I used whenever I am asked for valid ID's or when I forgot my company ID I am always refreshed from how I slept late just to solve more than a hundred problems a day during our board exam review, just to get that ID!

I wasn't born rich, but maybe because of my dreams to visit the place where the heros on pocket books where, I dreamed big. Or maybe I conquered all those hard days because, my selfish cousin won't let me watched Naruto on their TV when she's being naughty, because our TV gone mad, so I wanted to finish college to buy one. Or maybe, I don't want someone comparing me to my other cousins on my Mothers side, who has a professional degree and I on the other hand won't achieve the same. Or maybe, its the will to help my parents so my sister could go to college too, and my little brother. Or maybe, I want to see whats outside our province. Or maybe I just want that piece of ID, so I would just signed documents and I'll earn big(which wasn't true). Or maybe it was my classmates, my professors that made me continue. Or is my dream to fulfill my fathers dream he wanted to become? He likes a son for his eldest child. 🙈

Everyday during my school days from, 2011 to 2016, my Mother would consistently give me 50php or 1$ of money to pay for my expenses on school, fare, lunch and photocopies. I commute from our home to my college school. In order for me, to go to school I have to ride two trips one tricycle and one jeep, the fare is 8 pesos for jeep plus 8 php for tricycle, that would be 16php x 2 because I also commute in order to go back home, that equals to 32php, the remaining would be 18php. If I wake up early and cook food for lunch I don't have to buy lunch and save the 18php for my photocopy or I can buy food if we have classes up until 8pm. If I don't have lunch, I will walk to the highway for 30mins because there's a jeepney there that would directly drop me off near the school. And later in the afternoon I will wait for that passing jeepney that will drop me to the highway and I will walk again back home. But that usually don't happen because I stay late as 8pm on school for my night class. And those that I save will be my lunch, I'll buy a half rice and half pansit with menudo sauce as topping or dinuguan, which will only cost me 15php. I don't complain, as I look at it I am more than lucky unlike my other cousins who haven't set foot to college. But sometimes, the look of other people when you walk alone, tell a pity. Why, would they? I want to finished college and buy our home a TV! Haha. Simple as that.

We already had a TV at home and a cable. 👀 But I am not at home, I am away from home. 😶 But knowing my favorite tv channel ABSCBN is no longer airing that felt much better.

The hard part was to save money, to have a photocopy so I could have more problem to review and solve. Specially we don't have computer at home and smart phones are only for the rich. I only got to hold a book when I borrowed from the library and when I discovered one of my teacher is my cousin and she offered me a book when I was in 3rd year college. Without a math book, less review, so I needed to photocopy the pages and topics for the next exam schedule.

I don't want to bother my parents to buy me a book because they might do, loans and such, when I can review using photocopy and I am never demanding, I could make use of the resources given to me and make something from it. (I don't know what happened now. Lol.).

I remember,the late night sleep I spent on my thesis and how It was so hard for me because I just encode on computer rental shops but I still managed to finished and defend it. Lol. Haha. My thesis is a trash btw. 😆

Recalling the one month review I spent for my board exam review on our Dean's house, where I can't poop beside our home toilet. Haha. 🙂 Now my bum and poop knows how to catch up. Lol.

And all the quarrels we had when we choose our first fifteen days of review, by renting apartment and we cannot actually focus on review so we asked for our dean to catch us and review us in their home. We didn't go to any review center because we badly want to take the examination on May.

And those times where I am not confident to pass the exam because we just had March 15 to May 1 review, a very limited time. Everything I did along the way, those stories, those hardwork, those late night sleep, those aggressiveness, those failures, those were inside and living in my license Identification card and is the proof of all of it. My parents hard labor work. My lil sister's a year sacrifice for me to finish my degree.

And my job today, it was the fruit of my labor when I was still a student. And my singkweta pesos na baon. 😳

All I can say is, and I keep on repeating while I am on my review, It's now or never. And if its for you and you believe that it was for you, it will be yours, if you keep pushing them. And always pray, one of the Key.

Funny moments while waiting for result of the exam.

Examiner : Someone will call you and text you whether you pass or not.

Me on the day of the result.

Received a 3 am call

My classmate : huuuuy congrats! (Hey congratulations)

Me: Saan? ( For what?)

My classmate : Tanga pasado ka sa exam check mo kase sa website! ( Stupid!, you passed the exam, try checking it on the website)

Me : Di nga? Luh gago, sabi nga nong prc tatawag sila! Nakinig ka ba anong trip mo? (Really? Idiot, according to prc on they will call! You didn't listen on exam? Whats with you?)

My classmate : Luh tanga ayaw maniwala! Check mo kase! Sige congrats ko pa iba! Congrats ulit! 😆 (So stupid, just check on it, I'll go call and say my congrats to the others on the list!)

And I waited in vain for the call of prc and realize that the examiner, said 'someone' will call or text you if you've passed or you didn't. They didn't tell it was the prc who will call! Haha so so, my classmate was right I'm stupid! Actually I live in the place where I still have to go to the rice field just to gather a signal. Its 3am!

Tell all of us all about the fruits of your labor!

The rules to the prompt are simple.

  1. Write anything about The Fruits of Labor

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Write at least 600 words so Rusty will come to reward you

  4. Submit your story to PromptlyJonica here

  5. Tag me @JonicaBradley

  6. Have fun!

Credits

Lead image

11
$ 8.04
$ 7.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 4
Sponsors of Meyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Meyzee
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Girl.... that's awesome. A real journey of life. I felt your hard struggle, your mom giving you 1$... is something that I also had in my story too. Your fruit of hard labour may taste so sweet that your future journey of life bloom like a flower.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parents are really trying and once they have endured those period of training their children, the children also found success, it is as a result of the hard labor by the parents and the children. May we all eat the fruit of our labor.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahahahaha natawa lamg ako sa palitan nyo ng salita ahahaha ang kulit, sarap mag mura ano ahahaha.

Ang galing meyzee, basta talaga may pangarap ka. Kahit singkwenta or wala kang baon pag gusto mong makapag tapos matatapos ka. And for sure proud parent mo sayo. Sakin naman, diko nees mag commute kaya 20 lang baon ko nong College 😢

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha.. Made about this prompt too. Ipost ko mamaya.
Nung college naman ay 100 sakn 😅 layo kc nf school at pamasahe plng 25 na. Balikan 50. Plus sa multicab pa papunta terminal mga 10 balikan. So 40 pinagkakasya sa pagkain at photocopy pa. Agoy. Hirap tlga budgetin yun..haha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yieee hintayin ko yan.

Ang hirap magtipid! Pero buti nakatapos tayo. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sobra.. Panu pa kya panahon ngayon.. Mahal na mga bilihin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakabilib ka sis. Your hardwork is a priceless. You made it despite of everything and that's the biggest fruit of labor you have.❤️ You inspire me and all of us. It's a schemeful on how you spent the 50 pesos. I'm really proud of you sis..❤️🥰

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe thank you po. 😳

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're always welcome sis.... ❤️❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww. Sa 50 pesos madami kana mararating ☺️💚 iba talaga kapa marunong magpahalaga ng kwarta. Yung ibang kabataan yung 50 pesos ni "La-lang" lang nila yang 50 na yan not knowing na mahirap maghanap ng kwarta sa panahon ngayon but I can't blame them sobrang Mahal na ng mga gastusin ngayon na ibang iba sa panahon ng parents natin diba?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe iba din kase yung panahon ngayon. Hehe. Sobrang mahal na ng bilihin pati transpo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nang dahil sa singkwenta pesos nakapag tapos din. ❣️ Samantalang sa'kin 500 per week, tas sa boarding house pa ako kasi malayo bahay namin sa school kaya sobrang budget talaga sa mga binibili. it'll take an hour kapag bus tas 30 mins lang kapag vhire. Kaya lang tamad akong gumising ng maaga para mag abang ng bus kaya nag boarding nalang HAHAHA

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha hindi sila payag na magboard hehe. Kaya nga pagbinabalikan ko grabe, kaya ko palang tipirin yung 50 haha ngayon parang pagnabaryahan yang 500 ubos na sa isang araw 😳🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, Agreed, ako din fruit of labor will be my PRC ID haha.. Goodjob Pro.. Charr

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe! Ang hirap kaya mag-aral para doon tas ang mahal magrenew 😳

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You made it! Congratulations 💗

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yeah Thanks po! Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago