Pipings from your exterior walls.

1 18
Avatar for Meyzee
Written by
3 years ago

MY BUILDING FASCINATION #201

Disclaimer

This is only purely about my building invention fascinations and what I have learned while discovering them on my journey through discovering life and all about my curiosity and most importantly because of my boredom.

HAVE YOU SEEN THAT PIPE VENTING THROUGH YOUR ROOF?

Despite the things that I know this article will not earn like articles about bitcoin.cash and other currencies I would want to write it, still, to share boredom from me to you! Like how the saying goes “No man is an Island” so I say when I am bored I want to think that you are also bored. Isn’t that amazing that this famous line reflects at anything and in every situation! Say that I am wrong.

To continue, well as I was asking, have you ever been curious about the pipe in your backyard on your front house? Well I am not entirely curious before! When I was a little kid, I never knew about these pipes. Because let me tell you a little story about my childhood, I live on an rural area, where houses were built just to make a home to live in, to shelter us and protect us from the sun and the rain and other natural catastrophic events. Meaning roofs are made of nipa huts or others were made of the normal corrugated sheet roofing. And when it rains, it reaches your roofs then passes through it and directly go with the land/sand. And after the rain it makes a small canal from the land and a little dusty and making walls from outside your house dirtier.

What it looks like when there is no gutter and downspout.

Meanwhile, as this curiosity of mine goes, beautiful and big houses has this pipes every corner or in a equally distanced spaced to each other. As I have researched this pipes named as downspout.

Downspout

No it’s not like when you are down you pout. I know I have a lame sense of joke.

But to enlightened you more, downspout is a pipe that collects the rain from your roof canal or "gutters" and conveys it to the land in a certain area or in one point. Or sometimes it is directly discharged through the road canals or trenches or catch basins. Unlike, when you have not these pipes rains scattered through areas surrounding your house making your walls dirty and looks unfashionable. So when you want to build a house consider funding these one! In some areas like the one having snow I don’t have an idea what are they’re downspout made of. Because they have a lot to consider the snow, the calculation of surface rain/runoffs. In Philippines normal pvc pipes series 1000 is already acceptable, and computation of diameters will be based from the area of your roof. Where you need to consult a professional to get that. I am still studying it because it is also included on my plumbing study.

(Btw, my exam has been moved, I want to thank prc because I am not exactly ready to take it. I am still slowly learning pieces by pieces. And this means I can also share with you, whatever I have learned from studying by writing here.)

Short history of downspout.

Downspout according to link historically was first originated and installed in London in year 1240 for the purpose of protecting the finished white walls! And it was designed to install outside to protect your interior walls and for easy access for maintenance purposes. So wether you like or not it will always be meant to install your house! There are a lot of ways or designed you could do with the downspout to make look more attractive and not affecting the exterior design of your walls!

Hopes you also get bored same way I do! :)

Pictures are drawed by yours truly though it was just a sketched! Hahaha! Lead image is taken from ... and by me....

2
$ 0.37
$ 0.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @MicroReylatos
Sponsors of Meyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Meyzee
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

It's super interesting, I didn't know you were studying plumbing! the pipes and that they littered the walls, and all this is fascinating to me even more so that you study this, You are amazing and I am fascinated with what you post!

$ 0.00
3 years ago