Life in the City after college.

25 52
Avatar for Meyzee
Written by
3 years ago

I remember the time when I was in my 5th year in college I was so ready to graduate. Eager to find my path through the real world without having a plan. I don’t have plans. I just want to graduate and passed the board examination to leave all the crazy student stuff behind. No late night sleep, no more deadlines to meet, no more assignments to answer, thesis done, and ah I can finally put everything I learned on school in the actual world. But to tell you honestly, the world is a lot bigger and the life in college is much better. Planning is really essential.

I remember some of my college friends, are planning to take their Master’s Degree, some would want to go to abroad, some wants to pursue another level of profession, some are clear and vocal they will gain their experience into teaching, some are contacting their family’s connection to get a job! And I only have plans to graduate and pass the board exam and work in the City because there are no opportunities available in our provice! Just work to help my parents to return the favor, to help my sister and brother to graduate, in which I am thankful because she has scholarship that help her from graduating to college.

My first day in the city. I am always looking at the tall and tallest buildings, comparing each exterior landscapes, promising myself I will be one of the people who builds one of those. The city of Metro has pretty lights at night but has a very congested road. You got no problem with the time will you be home because there are 24 hours vehicles! Where in our province it is very different, I have to be home before 7pm or else I will walk myself home! The city becomes a new place for me to uncover. And the thing is, I actually missed the sound of the chickens at 3:00 am in the morning. The cold breeze of air coming from the rice fields and sound of the flowing rivers.

The third time I got an interview was the first job I got, I am so lucky! And the first day of my work I am confused because I am doing nothing but familiarizing people, plans that I don’t have any Idea what to do. And finally I got the dream of working with one of tallest building in the City. And I was so surprise with the different emotions of different people. I have meet people with different dialect. And everything’s feel so different and overwhelming. I literally don’t have any idea what my position’s responsibility. And I am very much thankful I have met a lot of people who guided me well with my work and teach me on how to connect with people. Because to tell you honestly, school is different from work. Job are applications not the one we used to memorize to answer the quizzes!

Moreover, what I have learned from my first job that I want to share to those who will be hunting their first job,

1.      It is okay to ask. It is okay to be labeled as a noob than learning it the hard way.

2.      It is okay to not know everything. Because what you have learned from school is only technical. Real world work is your journey yet to uncover.

3.      You cannot know everything in just a span of time. Take a step, one at a time.

4.      Always find a mentor. And lastly,

5.      Mistakes are inevitable, it’s okay. The next time you do it you already know what will be the possible outcome so you won’t do the same mistake again.

Moreover, I do recommend to plan out your life after college and slowly meeting them at once. Although some events you have planned will not happen, it is also okay. The important thing is you are learning. You are achieving some by steps by steps. Life after college must be tough, but when I look at the past I gently pat my shoulder. Saying girl, you have made it here Isn’t it something like an achievement? You happen to be here. Learning, and still choosing to learn! Kudos to all noobies to city you have not given up with their plans!

In my end, as of now I will have yet to uncover the perfect niche for me. Which I won’t grow tired doing and keep me learning and discovering new things to sharpen my ideas to life.

My best advice is, enjoy every moment, every journey, don't rush things! We'll reach the top slowly like the crane above tower with the right tune and right path! Foundation is important!

Thanks for reading! See you at the comment section! Hope you aren't bored!

Photos are taken by me 3 or 4 years ago! From the 38th floor.

 

 

11
$ 14.64
$ 14.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.10 from @bmjc98
+ 5
Sponsors of Meyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Meyzee
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Bigla naman akong natakot😆😆😆 Gustong gusto ko na kasi gumraduate eh😆🤣 Anyways, classmate kami ni immaryandmerry buti pa siya naisip na ng plano hhahahahasa.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha go lang! Dati takot din ako. Sa umpisa lang yun. Ngayon sumasagot sagot na ko at nakikipagaway. Haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Uhm hello Engineer lol. This article made me think on my plans after college. I still have more than 2 years and I don't have a plan yet. Anyway, this inspires me to make one (I just don't know how). Thank you for sharing your experience and some tips.

I'm wishing you success in all aspects. And just like what you've said, you have yet to uncover the perfect niche for you. I'll be rooting for you to keep going until you found it. Kudos, Engineer! :))))))

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehhe! Thanks for passing by and for a very nice tips!

Hope you'll be successful with yours too. Hehe It's okay not to plan yet you have two years to go! Ika nga nila mahaba pa para pagnilayan at pagplanuhang mabuti Hehe

$ 0.01
3 years ago

I have been a student for a good part of my life. Experiences full of challenges in preparing for the jobs you will perform in society. Sometimes I questioned how useless some knowledge seemed to me, but in the end, they shape your paradigm of the world and in this sense, they are good.

Today I continue to study outside the school system at my own pace and interests. For example, when I read your article, I feel empathy with you through the memory of my experiences. The word empathy, I learned it in a graduate course a long time ago, now it makes sense to me.

Thank you for sharing your experiences and thoughts with us.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha yeah I agree with you those that are they called basic subjects are really one of the important thing we will be using daily. Some of major subjects won't be present in daily activities like analytic geometry, but having these subject helps us think analytically everyday.

I also questioned the time frame we have from school, why it is long? Now I know why, it is to teach us to be patient from our present job, 2 or 4years or 5 years will be a great foundation if we choose to learn new things and not to resort to "finding again a new job. Or jumping from one job to another in a very least time.

I am also continuing to learn how everything works in this word, learning new vocabularies, learning to write in which I am not fond to do before, but this time, no meeting of deadlines, as you say, at our own pacing!

Thank you for your comment and tips!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope i can find a decent just this day.

$ 0.10
3 years ago

Crazy. Bwahaha what decent?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Quite similar story mayzee.... I too had left college and knew I just had to work rather than pursue my masters, well still hoping for a job by Gods grace, its been 3 years now, well delay is never denial

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah! Mines almost 5 years! Hahha well It's not yet too late though!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yea,... Ure right

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Why not share your design building here in read.cash 😍, share it to us go na.

$ 0.10
3 years ago

Hahah I don't do design. Haha. Just build. Haha 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't have any plans at all. Except finding a job(still no idea what job) making money to help my parents and have fun

$ 0.10
3 years ago

Okay lang yan hehe! Samedt!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article now i know

$ 0.10
3 years ago

Woah what a nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really? Haha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Its your first time so its fine to adjust and adapt new environment. Keep it up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahha thanks but that was nearly 5 years ago! 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh I can't wait to graduate and experience interviews while finding my own job too. Thank you for this good article 👏

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahha thanks for your comment!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very memorable

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well said buddy.. Enjoy every single moment ♥️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeahhh you should too

$ 0.00
3 years ago