How the rain made me feel

8 49
Avatar for Meyzee
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Rain, Prompt, Emotions
Free photo from unsplash by rezashayestehpour

This morning, I woke up very early, even though it was Sunday. But after an hour of Facebook scrolling, I fell asleep again. The reason is that when I heard the rain drops, I immediately felt asleep, cold, and comfortable.

I remember so many people loving the rain and how it seemingly soothes one's feelings. On the other hand, it does not lift my mood immediately since I'm a worrier.

So forgive my article today. It's a little bit personal and I guess normal. Haha. I will just share how I feel about the rain at different angles.

Heavy rain made me feel gloomy and worried.

I don't know how to say this, but being born at the center of gravity of the Philippines, we always suffer from typhoons. And whenever that happens, our sources of food and water are easily disrupted. And the flood across the river is so huge that we could not go out and play when I was a kid. We are just told to sleep or play inside the house.

The apartment I live in Manila is also near the river, and I get easily worried when the rain won't stop for more than hours. Because it can only mean two things: I'll get wet on my way home or there is already flooding on my way home.

I remember one time, I waited until 1:00 am before I entered our apartment because the ground floor was already flooded at 9:00 pm. What is worse is that my phone already had an empty battery, so I just stared at nothing while waiting. 

Rain during the night.

I am actually happy when it rains during the night, not the heavy rain from typhoons though. I can fall asleep right away. It feels comfortable and cold. The temperature is amazing!

I also love the sound it makes on our roof! It was loud, yet it brought comfort to my whole being. I don't know or it's just me..

Light rains with sunlight.

I kind of like light rain while the sun is present. It always makes me believe the story of the tikbaling getting married.It always felt surreal and I can imagine how they were being wedded. It was quite strange, though I've only seen images of tikbalangs on Mars Ravelos komiks.

Do you also believe that story? Haha. 

Rain after harvest and during the summer

No matter how much I am worried about rain, I can't imagine the world without it. During the summer, I always wait for the rain. Because the river becomes empty and my cousin and I can't have fun in the river.

My father and mother are a little bit worried when there is not enough rain because our rice field can't get much water and it will be harder for us to cultivate the land.

Though summer is a much love season, I still look forward for the rainy season. Because of so many values it brings to our everyday life. Rain means new water in the river, it enriched land making it easier to plant and more green leaves around the area.

Honest Question: When the river floods, I always wonder where the fish go! Haha. Do they swim in the ocean? Or do they die? I mean, I saw a lot of fish in the river before the floods! Haha And they were nowhere to be found!

Final Say,

I know someone who loves the rain so much that she smiles every time it rains. It was like her companion and her comfort no matter what situation we were in.

I on the other hand have live through ups and down during the rain. So when the rain is heavy and continous, that means I am worried. And when it is lighter and just passing by, It leaves so much imaginations and can also light my mood. It is also brings comfort and I can fall asleep easily!

So how about you? How do you feel about the rain? Does this make you feel gloomy or does this light you up?

 

8
$ 4.98
$ 4.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.03 from @TheGuy
+ 3
Sponsors of Meyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Meyzee
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Rain, Prompt, Emotions

Comments

Hindi tikbalang sa amin. Dwende ang kinalakihan ko na belief na kinakasal pag umaaraw at umuulan :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah, I love rain that much too. But same, no to floods.

Music in my ears talaga when I hear raindrops sa bubong. Nakakarelax. Dami kong naiisip na good things, plans, and all. Nakaka senti din kasi pag maulan. Haha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha oo kakarelax parang theraphy siya tas ambilis lang din makatulog 👀

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sameee, kasi malamig. Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If it's only for some minutes, I love it. And if it rains continuously then I don't like it, haha. Messy roads can't go out at all.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hehe yes, all wet and muddy! Can't play. Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love rain Sis, not until it has thunder and lightning:D

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha yeah. They are scary! 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago