How do you respond to criticism?

31 72
Avatar for Meyzee
Written by
2 years ago

For some reasons, I am writing an article, to know your response on how I write my articles and which article is your favorites and why do you read my article, or what do you hate about it, or what is lacking. I cannot promised that I won't be hurt by it, but I will whole heartedly accept what I am missing on my article, for me to improve! Honest opinion is only tolerated! No flowery words please! Haha. See this haha is the one thing I should refrain from typing.

But before that, let me asked you a thing, how do you respond to criticism?

Prior to that, let me tell you that criticism, has two types, its either constructive or destructive. Though both might points out the same mistakes or action, they have different approach.

Constructive criticism is when someone tells you directly, honestly a certain thing that you lack of, or something your doing unhealthy, that needs of improvement. It is usually followed with the action you needed to do. It can be either at home, at work, in a relationships and can also happen in a social media platforms.

For example;

I am living with my girl friends though the one is not really a girl but girl by heart. We are three in the house. I didn't know but I always forgot to unplug all the devices that are running on the house until my friend mentioned it. Heres how he told me.

"Uy girl, lagi mo nakakalimutan tangalin sa saksakan yung electric fan. Baka magkasunog tayo. Paki bunot naman bago ka umalis ikaw pa naman nahuhuli umalis ng bahay."

Hey girl, you forgot to unplug the electric fan again. You know, it might create fire when we're not home. Please always unplug it before you go to work, because you always leave the last.

If you will look at the approached of my friend, he points out exactly what I did was wrong and followed by the action I needed to do. Sometimes, we didn't know we are doing it wrong, that we needed someone to noticed it, for us to know we are doing the wrong way. So if you noticed that someone is doing it the wrong way, you are allowed to criticize and make sure you know the rules and what is wrong and what needs to be improved and approached them constructively.

Or to relate it to these platform, one of the example is plagiarism,

We see many people who spam the site with their unending copy paste and to your surprise it received a much better tips from the rewarder and we know that it is bad in the platform. How do you tell it to someone who copy paste --in the right way?

Simply we can do things in order to not harm the platform, if you see that the person has done it once, comment on his/her article, you can make it as a joke, like, "Hey I think, I have read this article somewhere, I like most of your article, but please refrain from copying others work." attached the proof.

And if the author wanted to stay on the platform they will take action. If they don't they do not really care, then you shouldn't care about them too, you can submit on read cash email and report or you can seek help from your friends from doing a report too, or on social media because plagiarism is a strong crime! Simple and easy.

Destructive criticism it is the way you say your opinion where you make someone lose their self-esteem, questioning their self worth, and even losing the interest on what they are doing, or what they used to love. It contains bad words and might create a bad impact on ones human being.

For example;

"You're content is nonsense." 
"You are not good enough."
"This work is a piece of shit"
"When can you do it right?"
"I am paying you for nothing!"
"You're ugly"
"You don't look good in that haircut"
"You're fat"
"You're a bitch"
And if we will convert my friends 
Approached to destructive it will be 
Like this,
"You are so dumb, you always forgot
to unplug the electric fan! What if 
our house get burn?"

Notes : these are generic words but
I am sure I've heard them!

And there's many more. See these things can make anyone lose their will to do things right. And asking for their self worth. Am I never enough? Kamahal mahal ba ako? Or they can result to something more bad.

How to respond to criticism?

Know if it is constructive or destructive.

If constructive, assess yourself, did you really do it wrong, or will you learn from it? If you did, accept it. Don't make your self a victim. Admit it and change whats needed to be change. And you will gain from it, you will grow from it. And you will be surprise!l, how these changes will affect your whole being. And always don't forget to say thank you for positive criticism! Meaning these people care for you and is willing to help you to become the best you can be.

If destructive, stay away around these people who make you question yourself. It may sounds cliché but still, just don't listen to them. Ignore those words. Don't validate what they were saying. Or it will become your way to live up of the expectation of others or it might destroy your whole being. Me, when I think I am receiving destructive criticism, If someone would says I am bitch, I'd say Fuck you or You too or simply ignore em. Or If someone says I am not good enough I evaluate, and If I have given my best, I think it is the line where I should establish an exit.

In line with this we know we are all people and we can't help but criticize others. It is in the nature of human, but how can we make it right?

Let me share you these quoted phrases I have read here,

Sometimes, our lips move faster than our brains that we forget how offensive we can be. It’s important to tell the criticism to yourself first and see how you’d take it before you say it. Like they say, keep your words sweet just in case you have to eat them.

By Lord of the Nerds, Criticisms: Constructive vs. Destructive written 7 years ago.

Thanks to Vitolda Klein @little_klein for making this photo available freely on Unsplash 🎁 https://unsplash.com/photos/ybHstqVRuXY

Critisize but do not make it to demean others! Do it the right way! Like the quoted phrase above we shall tell it on ourselves first, to feel if we would be hurt if we receive such criticism or not or if, it is worth it to tell.

Critisize but do not do it in front of many people. In my work, whenever I saw my workers --always on the phone, I make sure to talk to them in the office rather than saying it in front of many people, with of course consequences followed. I would less them an hour or so if they would continue to do it. Or sometimes when I am already fueled with anger and stress, I make it as a joke, like, "Oh, sop na ata yan ah!" or if they are playing ML, "Can I join you guys? What rank are you?". Or if they are watching tiktok, "Whose boobies are you watching now guys? Wow everything's done smoothly ah!" Though it wasn't!

Critisize but don't do it on public social media without the knowledge of the person you are criticizing or others might call you an attention seeker or a self-centered person, or others might be irritated of you. And always think first before saying a word! I always want to say what I thought on social medias because I can think properly of the words I would say. You see on socials you are allowed to erase your thoughts, your angered thoughts, and you can see what is wrong with it and correct it. Thanks to drafts we can edit words! Thanks to social media we can edit our thoughts! Always remember, what you have written on social medias will remain copied or it can be screen shot and it can be used against you!

Ending it here! Please add up if I missed something!

I know I do also criticize others and have done it bad too! And by this time, I do an exercise to help my angered words fly away, its counting 1 to 10 and breathing in and out at the same time. Concerned reminder, I think I have read these somewhere and I forgot where so credits to whoever you are, We aren't good at one thing if we aren't bad at one!


Back to my first paragraph, I am looking forward to your response senpais'! What do I need to improve? Hehe! Let us see who learned the differences of constructive and destructive criticism!

Thanks to Dollar Gill @dollargill for making (the lead image) this photo available freely on Unsplash 🎁 https://unsplash.com/photos/7BB3n68RUQs


Thank you for reading!

Love you to be bored,

Meyzee

16
$ 23.92
$ 22.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @carisdaneym2
$ 0.20 from @dziefem
+ 9
Sponsors of Meyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Meyzee
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Basta ako agree kay ate parot, kung ano ang nakakabuti para sa ikauunlad ng ekonomiya pwede mag recycle para mapakinabangan pa🌼🌼🌼

At about dito hehe, ayos naman iyong artikulo artikulo pa rin siya 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha recycle recycle lang din 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😹😹😹😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"huwag pavictim!" that says it all. haha. our emotions as we receive criticisms is valid, masaktan, mainis, o kung ano pa, but for initial reaction lang syempre. di makikigera agad lol. ayon, I like how you told here na we should reflect on our actions and ayon nga wag pavictim hahaha.

and I think it's actually nice to receive constructive criticisms from time to time kasi nga may mga bagay talaga na hindi natin napapansin pag sa sarili lang natin. minsan kailangan pa talaga na mag point out na ibang tao.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako mandin, nayayamot pag nakakatanggao ng ganyan. Kahit pa maganda ang pagkakasabi, mayayamot lang ako pero after that at nakapag isip na ng malinaw, yan eaabsorb ang sinabi nya tapos susubukang gawin sa naayon ang dapat. Kung para naman sa ikabubuti ng bansa at ng ekonomiya, go lang. Pero pag about na sa kanya, forget it, nevermind.

Sabog pa ako, don't mind the last part

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hhaahahahahahaha panalo basta para sa ekonomiya😹💜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ekonomiya lang salakam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahahahaha, para sa economy 😎💪💪😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

criticizing is forbidden for us mean for muslim people badly so we are not dare to do this anymore!

Anyway about plagiarism 😆😆 this is some member attitude and they will never end this up till you do not able to catch them out ..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha yep! Plagiarism is really a crime. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not all people can do this !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Critisize but do not make it to demean others! Do it the right way!

Critisize but do not do it in front of many people.

Critisize but don't do it on public social media without the knowledge of the person you are criticizing or others might call you an attention seeker or a self-centered person, or others might be irritated of you.

And lastly..

Don't make your self a victim 😂

Wala na akong masasabi Meyzee. Nasabi mo na lahat. Basta ang sa akin Lang words are powerful at dina marerewind once na nasabi mo na .

$ 0.05
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Wala na akong masasabi Meyzee. Nasabi mo na lahat. Basta ang sa akin Lang words are powerful at dina marerewind once na nasabi mo na

Yesss po kaya we really need to mind all the words we would let go. Hehe salamat po sa iyong pagbisita.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pag may mali ako inaalam ko muna kung mali ako, kung mali talaga aayosin ko naman. Di natin need maging toxic. We only need to accept, it's one way to grow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pag may mali ako inaalam ko muna kung mali ako, kung mali talaga aayosin ko naman. Di natin need maging toxic. We only need to accept, it's one way to grow.

Parang feeling ko galiiiit kaaa. Hahaha. Peaceeeee. Pero yun nga, tanggapin na lang move on and learn.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uy hindi. HAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All I can say, these four lines got me. I will surely remember these words. Especially the last one. 😁

If you did, accept it. Don't make your self a victim. Stay away around these people who make you question yourself. We aren't good at one thing if we aren't bad at one!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha! Thank you for passing by and taking your time to read my article!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha welcome! I enjoyed reading this one!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like that if you accept it, don't make you a victim.. All I can say is that ONE WORD IS ENOUGH FOR A WISE MAN. I would not waste my time and energy on someone who does not accept constructive criticism.

I avoid that kind of people now, not because I hate them but because I've done pointing out what I want to point out. If that certain someone keeps acting like a victim, and instead of reflecting they are doing a defense mechanism I don't think that person wants to improve and grow.. Yes we do mistakes but if we keep doing the same mistake, it's no mistake anymore it's more like built-in habits and I cannot do anything about it, and keep thinking that certain someone who gives criticism in front of their face is a backstabber.

If a person cannot accept constructive criticism and keep responding “You should reflect as well”. That's the end of the battle, not worth fighting for, and a total waste of time. It's better to part ways than to act “plastikan”. Lol.😂

As for you, I think you are doing great you are a fast learner. I highly commend you.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

If a person cannot accept constructive criticism and keep responding “You should reflect as well”. That's the end of the battle, not worth fighting for, and a total waste of time. It's better to part ways than to act “plastikan”. Lol.😂

Hahaha napagod naaaa. Mukang lalim ng pinaghugutan Miss Eyb!

As for you, I think you are doing great you are a fast learner. I highly commend you.

Yieeee salamat po!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala pa akong nakita na nag plagiarized 🤔 Sino kaya, o baka tamad lang ako mag explore 😅 binabasa ko lng kasi yung mga nakukuha ang interest ko. Sa akin naman, wala kong makita na need mo e improve sa pagsusulat mo. Galing mo kaya ☺️ Ako naman, madali ko malaman of destructive yung criticism ☺️ Kaya ginagawa ko, di ko na lang pinapansin as long as alam kong tama naman ang ginagawa ko. Tapos, magtatanong ako sa iba kung totoo ba yung sinabi tungkol sakin , bale second opinion kumbaga tapos hingi ako advice. ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tapos, magtatanong ako sa iba kung totoo ba yung sinabi tungkol sakin , bale second opinion kumbaga tapos hingi ako advice. ☺️

Pede din ito! Hehe. Sabi din ng kaibigan ko yannnn nung tinanong ko siya. Hahaha. Mas maganda din talagang humingi ng advice sa iba. Hehe.

Salamat sa pagbisita!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome. ☺️ Maganda tong article mo. Maraming matututo ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The effect of throwing constructive/destructive criticism makes you reflect on yourself. What have I done? Am I good enough? Then, in the end, you will realize all your mistakes and try to change for good. ask for an apology and never do such bad things again.. Am talking here, coz I've been there.. I've hurt others through my words.. But I apologized. And it's up to them if they will forgive me or not... It's up to them to continue talking at my back.
If I stay quiet but they will still talk about me.. it's not my fault anymore.. It's theirs..

Yeah it helps us grow.. It helps us reflect.. If I will receive whether it's constructive or destructive..just be brave to face the consequences.. And learn the lessons.. Apply, and do not repeat.

We are only human and we commit mistakes, and sometimes we are careless which is natural to us.. But it doesn't mean that we are bad already.. I believe there is always room for change and to forgive those who have sinned

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are only human and we commit mistakes, and sometimes we are careless which is natural to us.. But it doesn't mean that we are bad already.. I believe there is always room for change and to forgive those who have sinned

Yes Miss Jane we are all humans and are very vulnerable for making mistakes same with we are also willing to understand and forgive, and it takes time. I was once told that, wala akong kwentang kausap and it live up in myself, and still lingers. Siguro I have forgiven the person who have told me that, pero it stays in the mind. Habang buhay mo ng dadalahin. Those words cannot be change but we can make it right by not telling it to others again. Sana mapatawad ka na miss Jane whoever it is!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope so..i really want to.. Pero sabi pa..hndi pinipilit ang sorry.. Cguro hayaan nlng hanggang mawala na.. Just let the time heal it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You rather reply with silent or a smile it makes the critic look like a fool

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahah damn thats dope! Way to irritate them is to ignore them! Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes

$ 0.00
2 years ago