The Plan And The Execution: Be Flexible

3 21
Avatar for Methion
2 years ago

It is said that man plans but God executes. We have all heard stories of how people abroad send money home to relatives to help them build houses to a certain specification, only to return to meet something different entirely. That's a typical example of the way my day went.

The Plan

Why going to bed yesterday, I had high hopes for today. I had planned spend the entire with the girl I love, OK maybe not the whole day, but most of it. I already built a mental picture of how the day would go and how much fun we were going to have. It was going to be great. That was the plan.

I woke up this morning by 8:00AM, which is pretty early if you consider how late I wake up these days. But then the execution started.

The Execution

While I was getting ready, I got a message from my elder sister. She sent me on an errand that would turn out to be unreasonably hectic. Unreasonable because if not for the instructions she specifically gave me, I could have ran that errand in a way that would have cost me no more than 1/10 the time, stress and money it eventually took. But before I started out, I thought to at least stop by my babe's house, and I did.

She seemed really happy to see me, but she was also busy helping out her younger sister. I didn't like the fact that I was playing second fiddle to the younger sister in terms of her attention, so I left angry, but under the guise of going to run my sister's errand. It turned out to be unnecessary hectic and time consuming. By the time I was done and got back to my babe's place, she was getting ready for choir practice and I was already feeling beaten physically and mentally.

I just got a home a few hours ago. I had to eat snacks as I was too beaten to even cook. I didn't even bother steaming the leftover from my morning meal. I am that tired. Even now, I'm trying to keep this article as such as possible, so I don't sleep off on it, hence it might of low quality. Just a heads up.

Now, you see how I planned the day to be blissful and instead it turned out to be both physically and mentally stressful. I planned a thing and the execution turned put different.

This is typically how life is. We make plans as best as we can, factoring all the known variables, as well as highly probable variables. But most times, our plans do not hold. They either go south or get changed by circumstances. For some, this might bring the feeling of failure and Indiscipline, but it's not so.

It's important that we acknowledge that majority of the variables that have the most power over the outcome of plans are mostly out of our control. The fact that you didn't get to do it or do it the way you want doesn't mean you fail. What actually matters is the effort which you've duly put into the work at hand.

Author's Thought

The bottom line of what I'm trying to say here is that we should be flexible in our plans and accept that we don't control everything. This will help us take it well, at the very least, if things do not pan out the way we had hope. Eventually it's a defence mechanism against the feeling of failure and disappointment which most likely will lead to unnecessary pressure on it's victim.

Learn to be flexible

Thanks for reading my article.. I'm really grateful

5
$ 2.72
$ 2.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
Sponsors of Methion
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Methion
2 years ago

Comments

Hmmmm...under the guise of going to run an errand you left...wonderful!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

What?? You think I was wrong, don't you?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have nothing to say...

$ 0.00
2 years ago