Smartphone Addiction

27 44
Avatar for Methion
2 years ago

Good morning my read.cash family. Lately I have been interacting not so much on this platform even though I still read and comment on at least thirty articles daily. A lot of you might have wonder why, thinking maybe I probably gave up, but that's not the case. I have really been busy, added to the power issues we have been having in my area, this has been the reason for my reduced activeness as well as missing to post articles daily.

This has been compounded by the damage done to my phone yesterday where I went to charge it, consequently I might take a leave from the platform or be minimally active as I can not afford the repair right now ( or anytime soon if I am to be honest ). Hope you guys won't miss me much, whichever it comes to?

Let me not bore you further tho; to the business of the day. Have you ever being in a situation where you are really hungry and there's nothing to eat? You definitely did everything in your power to get food and when that failed, you must have done something unconventional or even illegal like stealing just to satisfy that hunger. Why? Survival; self-preservation. You needed it to preserve your life. Now, have you ever been in a situation where your phone was down and you couldn't get a place to charge despite doing everything in your power?

We all probably have. While some would probably just give up, others would do unconventional things like enter the room of that neighbor they have been avoiding, or go to the house of that boy ( some people will understand😂 ) because he has generator. Why? Because they somehow feel feel their phone is important to their survival.

The truth is, the phone is not that important. What we are seeing here is what I will be calling smartphone addiction. You might ask, is that really a thing? Yes, smartphone addiction is really a thing and it is more common than you can possibly think; you probably have it too. To fully get this concept, let's break it down;

Addiction

According to https://www.healthline.com/health/addiction#types, "An addiction is a chronic dysfunction of the brain system that involves reward, motivation, and memory. It’s about the way your body craves a substance or behavior, especially if it causes a compulsive or obsessive pursuit of “reward” and lack of concern over consequences". While The American Society of Addiction Medicine defines addiction as “a treatable, chronic medical disease involving complex interactions among brain circuits, genetics, the environment, and an individual's life experiences. People with addiction use substances or engage in behaviors that become compulsive and often continue despite harmful consequences.”

Smartphone Addiction

Smartphone addiction refers to the obsessive usage of a smartphone. This is also known as nomophobia; the fear of being without a mobile phone. This obsessive usage derives from the constant improvement of the capabilities and functionality of smartphone. As smartphone are being upgraded to take over the job and task of different other things in our everyday living, our department on it increases everyday. A critical look will reveal that smartphones are basically designed to be constantly used by the owners and this would be fine if it didn't cause any harm, but it does, hence they are almost inherently addictive.

Signs And Symptoms

According to https://www.psychguides.com/behavioral-disorders/cell-phone-addiction/signs-and-symptoms/ , the signs and symptoms of smartphone addiction includeusage constant need to use a smartphone more frequently

2. The loss of awareness of time due to phone usage

3. An insatiable desire for the newest phone, software, application and utilization

4. Any effort made to limit the usage of smartphone usually fails

5. Preoccupation with smartphone use.

6. Withdrawal, when cell phone or network is unreachable, demonstrated in forms of:

Anger.

Tension.

Depression.

Irritability.

Restlessness.

7. During time of negative feelings, they resort to using or spending time with their phone.

Effects of Smartphone Addiction

According to https://www.addictioncenter.com/drugs/phone-addiction/

Phone addiction can lead to:

Sleep deficit

Lower concentration

Creativity blocks

Aggravated ADD

Anxiety

Reduced cognition

Stress

Loneliness

Insecurity

Impaired relationships

Poor grades

Psychological disorders

An honest assessment of our phone habits will show that majority of us have smartphone addiction to varying degrees. Please for the sake of all things good, check it. I will be writing another article on how to check and control it.

Thanks for reading..

Thank you to all my readers, commenters, upvoters, subscribers and sponsors. I really appreciate you guys

11
$ 0.41
$ 0.07 from @Usmanshoaib
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @Greatwolfman
+ 9
Sponsors of Methion
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Methion
2 years ago

Comments

Sometimes we need discipline too. I use my PC more. My phone is idle most of the time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's good as long as you aren't addicted to the PC

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some people cant lived without phone but the radiation of the phone is not good to our health. Me im suffering hand painful thats why me and my phone will be a apart sometimes😅.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Please take care of yourself. Your health matters the most

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yuhhh thats what I do.. Thanks for the concern my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is my table infact you just broke all the legs on this table I am comfortably on it .. I am an addict to smart phone I can’t even lie but it’s for work reasons either ways I will try to do better because health is wealth

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's quite right. Health is wealth

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I fall under the category of people who are addicted to their devices, it was so much that I had to start using glasses. I can't do much about it since my device is my money-making tool (basically).

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Just try to take care of your eyes at least

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am surprised this is coming from you, you don even dey use phone pass me these days 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's why I got bothered and started looking it up

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is hard to stop using my phone now that I have read.cash, you talked about reward and that is why I am attached to read.cash... Haha!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Me too. It was, but rusty is on vacation, so I am going to slow down a bit

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can say that I do not have it. I am on my phone all the time because it is where I transact. 😊 People should know their limitations. 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope it remains that way

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same as me, I'm also struggling with my phone. I think my phone also needs some repair, but i still don't have enough budget for now. But I hope you can still continue to write. Anyway nowadays because of the pandemic, people tend to spend their whole day in front of their phone and that makes them more addicted..i think even I..😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right. They have more time in their hand and as a result, they are spending more time on the phone

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Been there! But I overcome it when I grew up, I know how to handle my limitations.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am happy you were able to get past it. It's not so easy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm. Makes me wonder about a lot of things. Particularly people around me and how they constantly use their phones, even when walking on the road. As it is of varying degree, I also wonder the degree of my obsessive use of the smartphone.

@kushyzee, you should read this. 😶😶

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am quite guilty of using my phone while walking on the road

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everyone has their addictions 🥱

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Doesn't mean it is OK to keep it as you would be harming yourself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Smartphone addiction is real mehn. I was once addicted so much tjsg I didn't even do anything about the house. I had to dump that addiction when I started studying medicine.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's one of the most dramatic symptoms of addiction. You will just find yourself being 100% occupied with your phone

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nowadays, smartphone addiction has taken a terrible turn. I know that everything has its pros and cons. If you accept it well, it will be good for you. But when you carry the bad side it will lead you to destruction. So we need to use smart phones according to our needs. Addiction cannot happen. yes it's a good topic.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Quite right. We ought to know how to properly balance it

$ 0.00
2 years ago