Don't Ask

4 20
Avatar for Methion
1 year ago

Depending on who's looking, today marks the end or beginning of another week. I can help but think about how most people are just going to do all over again, the exact same thing they did last week, last month, last year etc. The unending cycle and to what end? I don't know, just thinking out loud. Okay, I know that's a lazy and somewhat sad way to start an article, but like always, was just trying to be honest as it is in my head.

So, earlier today, I got caught up in a conversation about the word of God, the Bible. As a general precaution, this is a very delicate subject of discussion anywhere or anytime it comes up. It's important you remember how much people sensitivities can be offended when discussing such matters with extreme importance and consequences to the identity of who they are and their 'culture'.

Someone asked a question, 'God created Adam and Eve, and they had Cain, Abel and Seth. Cain killed Abel and was banished and the Bible record him having children. The woman who carried his child, where did she come from?'. This was the question asked and as I would expect on matters than have leanings towards any religion, hell was let loose, a bit, OK maybe I'm exaggerating.

Three groups quickly formed. The group who believe the question was very reasonable and all about learning and understanding. The group who thought it was totally ridiculous and almost blasphemous for even asking, and the group who thought that there was something there, but the intent of the question matters a lot in deciding to answer it. I've got to say, it was a good debate, I hadn't had one in a long time before then.

I learnt quite a few things from that debate and I'm to treat them a little.

Religious Fanaticism

I don't know what it is about some Christian, that they just get on the defensive whenever their faith or claims are been questioned. People who dare to question these are quickly labelled with atrocious tags. You don't have to insult me, attack my character or call me names for daring to ask questions concerning the Christian faith and my understanding of it. How are unbelievers going to get saved if you have issues answering their earnest questions, just because you can't answer it or it seems to threaten your faith. This is bordering the line of religious fanaticism. Teach what you know, and accept you don't know what you don't know, then seek knowledge yourself instead of hiding in your ignorance.

Christianity Is All About Blind Faith

In the midst of the debate, I couldn't believe that someone would actually still believe that Christianity is a religion based on the blind faith. This is cliché. Christianity is and always will be based on faith that isn't blind, but inquisitive and eager to learn. Like legit, people were of the opinion that you should ask such questions. The faith true Christian practice require the usage of our mind and 'spirit man' in the process.

Inquisitive Christians Are Unbelievers

This is the saddest of all today. From the last point above, you can see how this goes. There's nothing wrong in asking hard questions that it "seems even the Bible can't answer", why? Cos there are unbelievers out there who would probably be in the faith, if they had answers to these questions. When inquisitive Christians ask these kind of questions, they just want to understand, and ensures they aren't blindsided when unbelievers ask these questions for them.

Conclusion

A lot of these are so wrong that I'm finding a hard time leaving it alone. But whether we like it or not, we are going to have to accept that these questions has and will continue to be wise. I understand some reservations that such questions is an indirect questioning of the existence of God himself, and I disagree. These questions might seemingly be bothering on blasphemy, but it ain't the questions that should mattef but the intent behind it. With this, I rest my incoherent case.

5
$ 1.63
$ 1.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
$ 0.02 from @Freedom007
+ 3
Sponsors of Methion
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Methion
1 year ago

Comments

Omo, there's a difference between believing in God and being a religious person, everyone will surely say they believe in God and they are not blinded by religion, but the fact will tell at the end sha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

True talk

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's the problem I have with most Christians, anytime you ask a question about the Bible and they can't answer it, they tell you not to question the ways of God, so make I no ask questions again and just swallow everything blindly?

$ 0.02
1 year ago

The thing dey tire me

$ 0.00
1 year ago