Dark Childhood Memories

5 34
Avatar for Methion
1 year ago

Interestingly, I don't remember much of it. I don't know why. Maybe there isn't much to remember or there was a traumatic experience that I was trying to block out, so I suppressed everything, I don't know. But I do remember it in bits and pieces. The most prominent memory of my childhood that has stuck with me has been the circumstances of my birth and my near-death experience(s). The birth part is more of a story I was told and I built a memory out of it.

At the time my mother was heavy with me, my father was living in a different city, away from my mom. My mom was living with my dad's elder sister in the village, while my dad was supposedly hustling in the city. At the time I was due, it was only my aunt that was there to help my mum to the hospital. After delivery, my mum wasn't allowed to leave with me, because they could not afford to pay the hospital bills. An agreement would later be reached. My aunt had to work as a cleaner in the hospital for three months to offset the bill. I will forever be grateful to her for that. I always thought, in all these, where was my dad and the money he was hustling? But some things are better left unsaid and some questions unanswered.

As I began to grow into a very healthy, intelligent baby, tragedy almost struck. I remember how my mom told me that I fell sick, that I almost died. According to her, one of the treatment routines included putting my tender legs into a burning flame. Soon enough, I began to decay from the foot. She thought she was going to lose me, but I guess I'm a born fighter, cos somehow I'm still here. I've almost certainly had to fight for everything I have in life, with God on my side, and I'm guessing that's what saw me through.

The ones I vividly remember myself were too near misses with potentially deadly situations. They both occurred around the same time in my life. I was probably in junior secondary school then. To get to my school, there's this very narrow bush path with multiple bends around buildings that I used to pass. On a certain day, as I made a bend, I froze.

Lo and behold, a very big black snake was slithering past the road, with barely any distance between it and my toes. It might even have grazed my sandals, I'm not so sure now. But I froze there until it had passed all the way. You would think I would never use the road again, but due to our economic status then, I didn't have a choice if I wanted to go to school at all.

The other times involved a motorcycle and a vehicle. On two different occasions, I came pretty close to being hit by these. Luckily for me though, on both occasions, it ended with them running one of their tires over one of my legs. I could never forget those days. The thought of what could have happened haunted me for a while after each incident. It's indeed a miracle that I'm still here. I guess that's God's way of letting me know I haven't fulfilled my destiny and purpose on earth.

Thanks for reading my article. I appreciate the love.

5
$ 2.07
$ 1.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Mhizutty
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
+ 1
Sponsors of Methion
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Methion
1 year ago

Comments

Omo, you have been going through crazy things right from birth o, it's like danger is drawn to you 😆

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You're mad..😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ohh sad to hear that mate. Everyone has a purpose on this earth and God didn't create anything which doesn't have any purpose. Stay blessed dear brother.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You too bro

$ 0.00
1 year ago