Applied Christianity

4 22

Hola friends. How's it going? Hope you went to church? I did and it was wonderful seeing that I hadn't attended in a while. I actually went early, so as to meet the first service, bcos I really don't like spending so much time in church, that I lose sight of why I'm there. So, you can imagine my surprise when service actually started when the first one should have been ending. It was then I got the idea. Obviously the two services had been merged into one due to the exodus of student members as a result of the strike.

It was mostly a wonderful service. The first Sunday of every month is Thanksgiving in my church, and that part involves a lot of praising and dancing. I was actually anticipating it, cos there's this joy to it, even if you're one not to dance, like me. When it did come, it was mostly underwhelming.

During the Sunday school though, a very controversial topic was discussed. The topic was opposite sex friendship. What was meant to be a learning session would become a debate of the generation Z versus the old school. It highlighted a burgeoning problem we are seeing in Christianity today. It's like there are different generations of Christians with their own characteristics and interpretation of God and his world.

The teacher who we can say was representing the old school was saying that in every friendship, it should be defined, with appropriate boundaries, not staying in a locked room alone with someone of the opposite sex, and not tolerating feelings, even hug. The teachers whom were mostly youth, went on the attack on almost every point.

I mean seriously, how can you say it's improper for me to lock my doors when I have a female friend over? Just because she's of the opposite sex, I'm suppose to deny her privacy and confidentiality when she visits me? I definitely didn't agree with that. I understand what he was trying to say, but crucifying that was wrong. That's not the real problem here.

He was also talking about feelings and boundaries as if they are such mechanical things. I do agree with him on the fact that friendships ought to be defined, beneficial to both parties and with appropriate boundaries. But sometimes, the more time you spend with someone, the more you grow fond of them, and there's the possibility of that growing into something more than friendship.

He also said that you can't have someone of the opposite sex as your best friend. I was like, what? You've got to be kidding me. On that point, he was way out of line and we just couldn't take it anymore. The interesting part about all this, was that this teachings were been drawn from the Sunday school manual my church use all over the world. It's most likely written by the general overseer.

Why these things can seem archaic, they weren't necessarily wrong. But what was most unpleasant is that it was been taught as if God said it, as if having a female best friend is a wrong or sin. It's okay to teach these things maybe, but let your congregation know that this is more applied Christianity than it is of bible teachings. The reason is that, if it's not made know, people will erroneously take it all in, hook, line and sinker. If they did know, then they will use their own understanding of the word of God and their discernment to choose for themselves, that which is sound doctrine amongst these.

Author's Thoughts

I had a great time in the house of God today, and then followed it up with an evening outing. Overall, today was really great. I've had such a Sunday in a while. It was lovely... Hope your was too?

Thanks for your time

4
$ 2.19
$ 2.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Freedom007
Sponsors of Methion
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I just had to laugh at the leaving your door open part because it was so funny...anyways happy new month.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Happy new month to you too..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It doesn't make sense at all, why can't you have opposite sex as a friend because bi Don't see anything wrong with it.. nice to meet you

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Bro, the matter tire me

$ 0.00
2 years ago