Scarcity of water

5 20
Avatar for Melissa_1998
2 years ago
Topics: My experience

Lead Image from Unsplash

April 2, 2022 (Saturday)

The google tell us the definition of water.

water, a substance composed of the chemical elements hydrogen and oxygen and existing in gaseous, liquid, and solid states. It is one of the most plentiful and essential of compounds. A tasteless and odourless liquid at room temperature, it has the important ability to dissolve many other substances.

The glass of a water

Image from Google.

Water plays an important role of our daily living. Some says, it's better to have water and no electricity than to have electricity and no water. I remember when I was 5 years old we have no electricity that time. We only used "lamparilla" the old ways to have light in our place. But we have water that time, we have no problem before about water. It feels before that we are satisfied everything we need to live.

Lamparilla - an old lamp

Image from Google.

Today, if I compare from before it was very different. I can't imagine how life being changed in a worst way. God is so good eventhough we don't have a supply of water always, we find a way and we found out that near in our place there is a flowing water from the deep of the soil, it is from nature. The people here in our place, take a voluntary to form a small hole. We put a hose going to each of our houses. Then now, we have water but we can't use it everyday.

Small hole of water from nature

Image from google.

The culture here in our place is every saturday we are going to wash our clothes, that is our schedule. Today is saturday, I am planning to wash my clothes but then when I get the hose there's no water. I felt sad that I can't wash my clothes today. Monday until Friday, I have no time to wash my clothes because I have no work then sunday, I think when I wash my clothes on sunday I can't wear my clothes on monday because it is still wet.

Clothes to wash

Image from Google.

I don't know where I am going to wash my clothes since we don't have water today. I am hoping that God will light our minds to find another source of water. This is really our main problem here in our place, lack of water while water is the most need of every people.

Campaign

Image from google.

The election for mayor in our town is approaching, we planned here that this will be our request for them, I hope they will help us to save our needs. I know many of them are willing to help for those people who are in need and very important needs of people. I hope they can sustain everything to improve here in our place.

Now, while waiting for the water I imagined what if I am a rich person, I can help our place I can find ways to have water. So that there we can use water to drink, to take a bath anytime, to wash the dishes, and to wash clothes anytime we want.

No electricity

Image from google.

After the typhoon, still we don't have electricity until now. We are in the highland area, the reason they can't fix our electricity easily. They will fix the electricity at the lowland area. That is why, now, we don't have enough water and we also don't have electricity. It's just so sad here. But I don't meed to think more negativities. I just think that while we are still living and have food to eat, it is the most important. Soon, we will have water everyday and electricity always. In God's help it will become true, soonest.

Praying

Image from Google.

Sponsors of Melissa_1998
empty
empty
empty

7
$ 3.18
$ 3.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @AnonSunamun
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
+ 3
Sponsors of Melissa_1998
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Melissa_1998
2 years ago
Topics: My experience

Comments

I totally agree with this. Water is life. Human can never survive without it. Majority of our chores involves water as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I felt scared when i was child. Now every thing cool.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm in the fortunate situation to have been born in a country where a shortage of water has never been a problem. Over here the problem is often the reverse; too much water. So I can't say I know what it is like not to have water, I can only imagine. And maybe there is something I'm not seeing here but the often-heard expression that there is no or not enough water for drinking and living (not talking about farming or industry) seems to be a misdescription. It should say "Not enough has been done to ensure there is enough water". You see there is more than enough water, it is just impolitely not at the right location at the right time. The water is falling from the sky at the wrong place and the wrong time, and then runs off or evaporates, and is gone when you need it. Thing is that we are Humans, and we've been able to counter that problem for a while now. We can build (dig) reservoirs that can trap and store water in a convenient location. This would be the easiest way to provide water, which otherwise wouldn't be available. Just dig a big @$$ hole in the ground, line its bottom and sides with something waterproof, and then wait for it to rain. Make sure as much of the rainwater gets into the hole and afterward make sure the hole is covered up so nothing nasty gets into the water.

Another way we can solve this is to find the nearest fresh water source and start digging a canal or ditch from where you are to the location of the freshwater. Even a hose would do I guess. But the trick might be that the location you're at is at a higher altitude than the water is. The magic to that trick is called an Archimedes screw. It can make water flow up instead of down.

I know this all sounds so simple and logical that you might be tempted to think that there's a catch. There isn't. This Is how simple it is at the core. Everything else that prevents my suggestions to work isn't a problem with the water, but with external factors, like people or land ownership or something like that. But then the problem isn't water shortage, now is it?

This may sound very wrong, arrogant and I might crash and burn for it but if you'd ask me I am sure that when the Dutch would be swooped up suddenly and dropped into the middle of the Sahara or something we would have running water and irrigation within the time needed to dig a canal, or pit, to the nearest source of fresh water. Sure, it might be a big, long and tiring job to dig it, but we'd get it done, simply because it must be done.

Again our people's struggle has always been with keeping the water away from our lands but we've proven that if you really dedicate enough time and work there's nothing you can't build. And if there's nothing you can't build, building a canal or other means of water transportation is possible.

One thing that I have learned though that you might want to consider is that waiting for god to solve problems has never, does not nor will it ever lead to a problem being solved. You need a problem solved, solve it. God won't.

Good luck out there!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope you are doing great right there my friend, I hope that your utility service will become accessible in your place sooner. Water and electricity has been a necessity these days. hoping it will be resolved by the higher ups of your place. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku, hirap talaga pag walang tubig. Buti kung mag magdedeliver pero kung wala, need bumili para lang may gamitin sa pagluluto. I hope your concerns will get solved sooner sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago