What is the most important when working?

8 43
Avatar for McJulez
2 years ago
Image source: Unsplash

During the time I spent on my work immersion when I was in high school, I often rummage through my memory if there can be knowledge I can use to help in the work they will give me. We know that we are taught in school of the things we might use when we will work. However, of the knowledge I earned and remained, only a little of it was I able to apply. As I carry out with my work immersion, I have come to realize that knowledge I learned in school is not the most important thing I needed. It was the understanding I honed and the attitude I kept improving through the years. It was values that will lead us to success.

Inside the four corners of the office, it did not really matter to them if I was granted with honors or I won academic competitions. What mattered to the employees I worked with and my supervisor, particularly, was my performance at work. They observed if I did my job as well as I could with the right attitude. It felt like I need not to appear exceptional and over-the-top to intimidate them or to make it seem like I can do better than anyone can. I only felt like I need to be the best that I could be and get the work done with no complaints, just courtesy and maturity.

There is a possibility that we forgot to improve our personality because we might only be focusing on enhancing our skills and abilities and gaining more knowledge. We lose sight of what is important, the right attitude. In performing a task in the office, you have to show that you really want to do the work. In that way, they can see that you are a person who is willing to exert effort. They would see that you have the dedication and the personality which will earn you a good reputation.

Interacting with your officemates is not only the norm but also an essential. You have to show the right attitude by respecting your fellow workers. Talk to them in a polite manner and make them feel that you do not see yourself as superior to them. You treat them as professional who can contribute with you. You would not let your ego get in the way. I could feel that some of the employees are not really close friends but they are mature enough to collaborate with each other for the sake of the business. The right attitude is definitely needed to be an efficient worker.

Showing that you have a pleasant personality is a good way to give off positive influence to your workers. In the office, none of the employees come in late. Punctuality is a great asset that will lead people to trust you more because they know that you always try to meet the time. Being approachable and comfortable with other workers can let you enjoy your office work more because you can have fun with them while working. It is important that you contribute to making the office environment comfortable and light. We should not become a reason that the office becomes more stressful.

All of those things are what I have observed and reflected during my immersion period. I learned a lot not only from just watching in the corner but also joining the employees in their work. The work immersion gave me a glimpse of how my future would be like. I may have the highest grades, the smartest and the most capable but I know that the most important is what attitude you show to your companions. Right on, I should set my priorities straight.

8
$ 2.84
$ 2.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Marts
Sponsors of McJulez
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for McJulez
2 years ago

Comments

I agree on this one. It is not only what you learned inside the school, but the attitude and how you socialize with other at work. That the willingness to learn more, to be open for corrections, are somehow honed us to be a good worker on our field.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, that is true. Because learnings are useless when it is not applied. It is the eagerness, patience, and determination that helps us also to land good jobs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree academic honors and accomplishments are not that important when you get into the reality of the workplace. It helps, but it's not everything. People skills, tenacity, and professional work ethics are more important. :) Your work immersion program seems to be a huge help!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All the things you said are really true. Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the same for me. What's the most important in working is having a good relationship with colleagues and accomplishing the tasks every day. It's very fulfilling to work in an environment where you don't feel pressured and suffocated. That results in good production at work.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Agree Julez. The most important is to be respectful to our workmates or companions. We must be a good individual. We should learn how to socialize them in a good way. This is what I learn when I got my first ever job Julez.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed po. Work immersion is really a great stepping stone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Julez that's true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago