Skyward Bound: A First-Timer's Experience of Plane Travel

2 52
Avatar for McJulez
10 months ago

My list of to-write topics has piled up; honestly, I feel overwhelmed by it. These were supposed to be written in the past months, but because I was busy each day, I couldn't post some of them. Anyway, I'll just start with my experience riding a plane for the first time!

Take Note: It's just a domestic flight.

It was March this year when we learned about the annual event of the National Federation of Junior Philippine Institute of Accountants (NFJPIA). I'm talking about the National Mid-Year Convention (NMYC), which was held in Cebu City.

Prior to it, we joined the regional event of it, where my various schoolmates and I won in various academic and non-academic events. Because of this, we advanced in the national event. At first, I thought I wouldn't be able to attend it since the cost of the flight itself is already costly, how much more to the other expenses to be incurred given the fact that the cost of living there is much more expensive as compared to where I am living, which is in Vigan City.

Luckily, with the help of our school and other sponsors, I was able to fulfill this dream. I was excited during those times because I was not only going to Cebu to participate in a national event where equally impressive and intellectual individuals were present, but that was also my first time riding a plane!

You read it right, my friends. That was my first time experiencing what it feels like to ride a plane, and I am humbly proud because of joining academic events, I fulfilled this dream of mine.

For the most awaited part, here's the experience. By the way, do not expect too much because it is funny in some aspects.

As I walked through the entrance of the airport, my heart was beating fast because of mixed emotions while carrying my travel bag. As we printed our tickets, we passed through the checkpoint. I am still determining the exact name of it, but it is where the bags are being scanned and so with us before finally going to the waiting area.

When we were already entering the plane, I couldn't help but smile. At the same time, I felt nervous not only because it was my first time but also because of the things that preoccupied my mind. When we found our seats and everyone else was seated, the flight attendants told us about the essential things to take note of. After which the pilot then came over to the speaker and announced that we were about to take off.

As I heard the engines start, it made my heart beat faster. I took a deep breath and held the seat handle tightly. As the plane moved up in the sky, I then realized it was not as terrifying as I expected. By the way, we take off at 5 am. The sky was still a bit dark, so I wasn't able to appreciate the view more. But it wasn't that bad at all because, in fact, I was amazed by what I saw.

Here, take a look as well:

While we're at the cruising altitude, I feel relaxed. Then, I fell asleep. When I opened my eyes, we were about to land already. I only felt a bit of turbulence. When we landed, I felt a feeling of relief. The breeze of Cebu, as it swiftly passed through my skin, made me smile.

We went there one day before the event, so we had time to visit some places. These experiences will be narrated some other time because it's getting long already, but yeah, this experience of mine riding a plane for the first time is one of the most memorable experiences I have had.

Hopefully, I will be able to experience it again sometime soon with my whole family. For now, I will need to work hard to reach my goals and aspirations to fulfill these dreams I have for myself and my family.

How about you? What was your experience of riding a plane for the first time? I would be glad to know it too!



Word/Phrase of the day:

cruising altitude (noun): It is the height in the sky where an airplane stays for most of the duration of a flight.

2
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of McJulez
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for McJulez
10 months ago

Comments

Sana all nakafirst time ride na sa eroplano. I'm not yet experiencing it. And I don't know if ever I have a chance to experience it. 😅 Congrats sayo.

$ 0.00
10 months ago

Masusubukan mo rin po. Just believe in your dream to fulfill it. :)

$ 0.00
10 months ago