Everyday for the thief, one day for the owner…

6 35
Avatar for McAdeleye
2 years ago

A short story


Back in the days when I was much younger. I can't remember my exact age then, all u knew was I was still in primary classes. I had a lot of friends whom I thought we were friends with back then lol, but I was just deceiving myself into thinking our relationship would last long. Had I known back then maybe I wouldn't make anyone my friend?

Sometimes when I sit back, relax and think about those days I just laugh at myself and those strange and silly actions I took back then. Sometimes tears drop down my face when I remember those memories again and again. Happiness was a priority, no worries, no pressure, just living that happy life.

I remembered a friend of mine. I don't even know his first name to date, all I know is that we call him Lanre (Yoruba dialect). He was my seat partner in class, sometimes we shared ideas after classes, and at times we told stories too. Lanre was a good boy to me ever since I encountered him but there was this day he turned out to be extra rich.

I was so amazed by what Lanre brought to school that very day. He came along with his bag loaded with chocolates, biscuits, sweets, and a lot of money was in his pocket too. He showed me some of them and promised to spend them with me and some other friends. I was amazed at his sudden change then I asked him out of curiosity "where do you get this huge amount from?" Then he replied, "My dad just returned from London yesterday".

Poor me, I believed Lanre and we went to shops and food canteens after school, I spent a lot of time enjoying my friend's money whose dad just came from London 😅😅😅. So on my way home, he gave me a 100naira or 50naira note but I can't remember the exact amount. I got this money and took it home. Had I known I should have followed my brother's advice to throw it away. But I didn't.

On getting home I met dad and he asked where I got the huge amount of money from. I was scared to death and trembling in fear. I never expected to meet dad on our way home. Out of fear I couldn't give a perfect answer till he dragged me home and locked me inside.😆😆😆

A day I can never forget. He kept on asking me for the money source but I couldn't say it. He flogged me, but I still couldn't say it. Instead, I kept on screaming for help!.😝😝😲😲.

But it got to the stage when the cane made a bloody mark on me, I couldn't take it anymore and immediately I said everything about the money. Lol 😅😅😅.

That bloody mark on me became a scar on my tummy till today. Every time I see it I would always remember that naughty stance of a friend of mine and how the scene happened.

After telling the whole truth my dad asked me to take him to my friend's house for confirmation. On getting there we met with his dad and introduced ourselves.

Dad told him about what his son did at school then his father said "I have always been looking for my money at home and I never knew who kept taking them ". He believed his son was too young for that and would never steal from him. Thank God we came.

He called Lanre out and asked him to defend himself, I looked him in the eye, but Lanre couldn't say anything. He kept stammering till his dad grabbed him and beat the hell out of his life. My dad took my hands as we moved out of their house.

I learned a lesson that very day that humans are not to be trusted. Living a luxury life doesn't mean he is the true owner of those luxuries.

Since that very day, I have never believed in what people say so easily. Lanre taught me how to deal with humans and what the true color of humans looked like. Who knew my seat partner was a thief who always steals his dad's money to school.

Many have lost their lives today or even go beyond their limit in life just because they want to feel included. They never wanted to be left out among their peer groups, without knowing that they have their own fate, their own pace in life totally different from that of their friends.

Many times I see people say, “What could make him achieve this, I must own one too”. Yeah nothing bad in aspiring for better things in life, but one has to be careful not to fall into the pit of calamities and regret.

All that glitters is not gold.

IT IS NOT GOODBYE BUT SEE YOU AGAIN 👋👋👋

Header image source

5
$ 2.11
$ 2.00 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.10 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.01 from @Edystringz
Sponsors of McAdeleye
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for McAdeleye
2 years ago

Comments

Lanre the son of the Londoner 😅😅😅 So you got punished? 🤣🤣🤣 Now, this has taught you a lesson. We shouldn't believe everyone we see living a luxury life because we don't know how they came about it so that we won't have to be implicated just like you.

It's good the mark was still there till today as a reminder to not trust whatever anyone tells you 😀😀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hummn. It’s a day I can never forget

But today I could say it anywhere with laughter on my face

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That short story was funny, same thing happened to me, in fact it was same story, whenever I remember it today i just laugh, it was a beautiful experience though, and it has shaped me to who i am today

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sincerely 😂

So we all have those sides in our lives tooo 😝 And thanks to God for those time it shaped us for sure

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣🤣🤣, permit me to laugh at your youthful pain but when I saw that art of meeting your dad, I expected that to happen because I also experienced such discipline at home at a young age.

Many always believed that everything that glitters is gold and would always good for those things even though we are human and love good things but not been conscious of where those things are coming from becomes a problem.

I tell my younger ones, don't be carried away by the riches of others, and all you are thinking about is to get what they have, work out your ass and earn your money that is the best thing that can happen to anybody. Although it is stressful, but it pays.

Trust can't be earned by wealth so I was taught and that is what I stick to.

Great story to learn from.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad to hear you learn from it. We all have that story we can never forget and had a great impact in our lives. That’s life for us.

Thanks for stopping by and reading my poor story.

$ 0.00
2 years ago