How The Water Damaged My Phone

1 33
Avatar for Mayt
Written by
4 months ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Experiences, Story, ...

What will you do if your phone drops off the water? Almost 100% of us will agree that we'll panic and grab our phones immediately.

That's what happened to me last week (Friday). I dropped my phone at the basin while doing some laundry. After I picked it up, all I could say was "Game over".

Every photo at the gallery? Gone. Videos of my little one? Gone. Every memory I make on that phone? Gone.

After stating it to my hubby, he told me how backing up all our files is very important. Well, he was a phone technician before, so I gave it to him immediately hoping he could fix it that instant. My phone didn't die after it. It's still on, so I was thinking it was just fine.

He tried to shut it down at that moment. And see how deep the water goes.



My phone after it falls into the water

After my hubby removed my phone's battery, we can see how the water got into the ports jacks, and speaker. That's why shutting it down and removing the battery is very important and you should act fast, before the water flows into the circuit, and fry the circuit board.

After what he did on my phone, I was confident it would be just fine. Thinking it was saved and can be used like nothing happened.

And he told me how water is so dangerous on phones. Good thing it didn't fall on seawater, coz it has more chance of damaging the phone compared to fresh water. But still, I was so disappointed in myself. I blame myself because I watch videos on it while doing my laundry. 🥲

How we fix my phone

I don't know if it's right for me to share how we saved my phone, because it's not that fine. But in case you experienced it as well, this might help you to solve it. Remember, you can't control water how deep it can get when your phone is submerged in it. So the only key to saving it is to act fast.

HOW WE RESCUE IT
1. After it falls into the water I take it out as fast as possible, and my hubby shut it down.
2. He wiped it with a microfiber cloth with an alcohol.
3. Shaking it, making sure the water that enters it can be forced out.
4. Then he removed the battery, and the SIM cards.
5. And lastly, (I don't know if this works in some, but this is what we did) put my phone in our rice container. After watching some YouTube videos and suggestions, rice can pull some water out. So that's what we follow. My phone stayed there for 1 week.

What I learned after the accident

Follow my instincts - while watching some videos on my phone and doing some laundry at the same time, I already thought that my phone could fall into the water. But still, I allow my positive self to think that it will be fine, and nothing will happen. So next time, I'll follow my instincts and don't risk especially if it's that dangerous.

So now, I experienced a week of not using my phone. And I'm telling you it's so boring, like I used to have it every single day, then in that instant, I lost it. Now it's functioning, still alive. But not as good and okay as before. It has now lines on the screen, discoloration, self-functioning like it's clicking on its own, and hard to press on some parts.

So yeah, I think, I need to buy a new one. And always remind myself to be careful next time, and not drop it in the water again.

Disclaimer: Images were from Pexels and Unsplash.

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Mayt
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mayt
Written by
4 months ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Experiences, Story, ...

Comments

Next time place your phone in a safe place before you do the laundry, and so on. Trust me you survive without it. If someone calls you, you need to dry your hands anyway before you answer it.

The rice is a famous trick but if it works? I find it a bit strange to shake the phone before opening it and take the battery out.

Btw your phone can still get issues in a few months. My child once dropped it (in a bucket). I opened the phone (hair dryer to melt the glue) and we replaced the screen and some parts except for the battery (perhaps in some time). With some patience it is doable. There are plenty of videos available.

Btw: even if every file is lost on a phone it's no big deal, there's worse.

🍀❤️

$ 0.00
4 months ago