DIY Kitchen Scraps Fertilizers

0 20
Avatar for Mayt
Written by
2 years ago

Planting has been my hobby since March. I enjoyed doing it as it can give us food shortly or it can be a beautiful garden someday. I love to see how other people harvest their crops. I also appreciate those gorgeous parks with a lot of different and attractive flowers.

When I was young, I like to take pictures of blossoms. I also want to experience harvesting crops. Not to the point that I want to plant my yard.

Now was different. I am planting with the goal of harvesting someday. I am planting to have a wonderful and impressive garden someday.

Viewing other gardens makes me admire the plant, up to the point that I end up having seeds or something to plant when I got home.ย ๐Ÿ˜…ย I understand now how plantitos and plantitas always have a handful of plants that will be planted in their garden after visiting their friend.

This April, we visited a friend. Her garden was full of flowers.

I got attracted to it and wanted to plant mine too. So I end up demanding some seeds after.ย ๐Ÿ˜…

Last week, we went to a friend's home to get our rice. She has a broad land that can be planted with anything. Until I saw this plant:

This plant is unfamiliar to me. So I was like, "ย ๐Ÿ˜ฑ It's beautiful.ย ๐Ÿ˜" And yeah, I end up having seeds of it after.ย ๐Ÿ˜…

As of now, I don't have a flower garden. You can visit my lawn by clicking this link: "Start growing your food at home." Just plain green leaves. I'm waiting for it to grow and bloom. Someday, I'll update you with it.ย ๐Ÿ˜Šย Hope it grows beautifully.

Btw, how do you take care of your plants? How do you make them grow healthy?

As for me, I used homemade fertilizers. I will share some with you if ever you don't have any idea that it can be used as a fertilizer. Let's start with:

Eggshells

This fertilizer is so easy to make as eggs are always available in our kitchen. You only need to wait for 1 to 2 days to dry the eggshell, then crushed it. You can put it directly into plain soil or soak it in water and use the water for watering. After 1 week, you can see how a plant grows so healthy. It is composed of calcium that will moderate soil acidity and will provide nutrients for plants.

Banana peel

Yes, you read it right. Banana peel can also be used as a fertilizer. Some people dried it and crushed it using the blender. This fertilizer is rich in potassium and calcium which is good for plants like tomatoes, peppers, or flowers.

Coffee grounds

Not just people love coffee, but also plants got addicted to it.ย ๐Ÿ˜ย Plants need coffee too. But you don't need to blend it with sugar or creamer. Simply sprinkle it onto the soil surrounding your plants.

Why does it become a great fertilizer? Well, coffee grounds contain several key nutrients required for plant growth. It can also help attract worms and decrease the concentrations of heavy metals in the soil. You can put it to acid-loving plants like azaleas and blueberries. It's also good for the growth of fruits and flowers. So next time you'll blend coffee, don't forget to give your plants too.ย ๐Ÿ˜Š

Bonus tip:

Eggshells, banana peel, and coffee grounds can be combined and use as a tremendous fertilizer. You can use a blender for the easiest way of mixing it. Just put everything on it (you can also add a few glasses of water if you want it watery) then blend. These 3 will be a great combination.

I hope you learn something from me. I was glad if you can share some ideas about plants too.

Thanks for reading.ย ๐Ÿ˜‰

Photo source:

  • Caroline Attwood via Unsplash

  • Louis Hansel via Unsplash

  • Noora AlHammadi via Unsplash

3
$ 3.41
$ 3.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Mictorrani
Sponsors of Mayt
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mayt
Written by
2 years ago

Comments