Chicken Soup: With Patola And Misua

8 33
Avatar for Mayt
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Story, Experience, Personal, ...

Did you know that eating chicken soup can improve our skin health? It is known to improve skin elasticity and facial pigmentation.

So having chicken soup in our meals will not only make us hydrated and full, but it will also make our skin healthy.

Night market

It is 7:00 pm when I, hubby, our little one went to the night market. We used to be there and take a little snack.

That time, there's a vegetable vendor... And she's selling patola (ribbed loofah). I bought 1/2 a kilo for PHP20 or $0.37.

So our menu for today is chicken soup with patola and misua.

Chicken soup with patola and misua

This soup is considered a traditional dish enjoyed by Filipinos. Somehow, the Chinese influenced it a little bit because of the misua.

Also, this is not a boring soup because of the rich chicken taste in every spoonful. Plus, the smell is very alluring. It is also nutritious because of the patola, and scallions.

I like how it tastes. It's just a good match to warm steamed rice, plus the fact that... it will make you want more.

So without further ado, let me share with you how I made it.

Ingredients

Just what you saw in the picture, the ingredients are:
• 6 to 8 ounces of chicken
• 2 ounces misua
• 1 small patola
• 1 Knorr cube
• 2 scallions (chopped)
• 3 cloves garlic (crushed)
• 2 small onions (chopped)
• 1 tomato (wedges)
• 2 1/2 cups water
• 1/4 teaspoon salt
• 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
• 3 tablespoons cooking oil

Procedure

I started everything by heating the oil. After it gets hot, I sauté the garlic, onion, and some of the scallions.  I just wait for the garlic to be light brown and the onion to be tender.

After that, the tomato has been added. I sauté it until it gets sluggish.

I then add the chicken and sauté it for 2 minutes.

Also, I add salt and black pepper to it, then sauté it for another 2 minutes.

After that, that's the time I pour the water.

I also add the Knorr cube and stir it... Then cover, and let it boil for about 15 minutes on medium heat.

After that 15 minutes boil, that's the time I put the patola.

And immediately the misua. I just stir it, and cook it for about 2 minutes more... Then that's it. Chicken soup with patola and misua is now ready to be transferred and served.

Bring it to the next level

In making this, I plan of putting an egg in it after it is cooked. I also dream of having fried dried fish to be paired with this soup.

But that idea didn't happen. I end up eating just how I cooked and prepared it. The reason is, it's getting late and preparing too much food for a night is not practical. Especially if just two of us will consume and eat it.

But if you ever want to bring it to the next level, egg and fried fish must be present with this dish.

Yet eating it just like that is still a satisfaction. I'm telling you it's so masarap!

Cost

All in all, if I will compute the ingredients... Chicken can be calculated for PHP50 or $0.92. The misua is just PHP10 or $0.18. Knorr cube is PHP7 or $0.13. The scallions same as the patolas are both PHP20 or $0.37... And the other condiments and seasonings... Can be estimated to be PHP25 or $0.46.

Maybe I just consume a total of PHP132 or $2.43. This is so cheap.

Having chicken soup with this money is already practical.

I hope you learn something today and wish to see your cooking recipes as well. Stay healthy and full. 😉

4
$ 0.14
$ 0.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @tired_momma
Sponsors of Mayt
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mayt
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Story, Experience, Personal, ...

Comments

I don't know before this that chicken soup make our facial skin healthy and glowing , now i must take it three to four Times in week thanks for sharing it's recipe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha... That's how you want your skin to be healthy huh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We did not yet try to cook that chicken soup but I wanna taste that also. A very nutritious meal we can enjoy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Try it next time. It's so masarap! 😋

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ansarappppp lalo na now na umuulan. Sarap makihigop!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya nga e... Bagay na bagay ang mga ganyang ulam. Pero dito gabi mas okay magluto ng ganyan, kasi ang init pag tanghali. 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sarappp.... Dati hindi ako mahilig sa sabaw pero after kong magka anak ,gusto ko na laging may sabaw at bet ko yung may gulay gaya ng patola kasi ang bango niya hihi.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Relate sissy. Kapag nagkaanak kasi required ang may sabaw na ulam noh haha. Ako din dati umay na umay ako sa may sabaw na ulam kasi paborito ni mama kaya everyday di mawawalan ng sabaw. 😂 Pero nung di na ko dun nakatira gets ko na kung bat sya mahilig sa sabaw. Masarap naman kasi pala. 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago