My First-ever Internship Interview

3 45
Avatar for Mayiee
Written by
1 year ago

Happy Wednesday everyone!! I hope that you are in a good situation and mood right now.

Yesterday was a busy and tiring day for me. Except for my class, I had my first internship interview on one of the company that I applied. They email me the other day and inform me that we will having an interview at the afternoon. To be honest, it is one of my top choices because it is just a walking distance form our University. So it is less hassle for me to travel back and forth. I prepared myself and make sure that I will go there in advance. I admit that I am nervous because I don't know what will gonna happen to the interview but I convince myself that I must go.

When I already there, I asked the guard where I found there HR Manager. This company is one of the distributor of the biggest brands worldwide. So they assist me to the conference where their HR Manager waiting for me. When I got there, there is also 2 intern applicants. Someone give us papers that we need to answer. He said that it is a 4 types of exam and we need to answer it before the interview. We didn't expect that there will be an examination, we only thought that it is only an interview. That papers consist of personality test, essay test, mathematical test and abstract. The abstract test is the challenging one because I don't know what is the drawing or sequence referring to. I mean the copy is so blurred and you can't vividly see it clear. Even the other applicants find it hard. But I still answer it with the best that I can. While on the essay part, it mostly asked about yourself and what they should hire me as a Finance Intern. Even if, the essay requires at least 150 words. After I finished the 4 exams, they called me for the interview.

I can say that the HR who interviewed us is handsome and his voice is so manly haha but it never lessen my nervousness. They asked what kind of Microsoft Office did I used and how aware I am about it. They also asked why I choose their company and what is my expectations on my career after being an interns there. I think that I can answer them well. They just said that they will call me once they checked the papers. After that I finally leave the conference room and went to the entrance. Upon looking I heard the guards who is gossiping about applicants. They badmouthing us and saying that we are look like a bossy and we seems don't know anything. They even say that we can't survive the internship if ever. They didn't notice me first so I excuse myself to get my ID. They were surprise when they saw me in front of them. I just smiled to them and go outside that company. They still saying other bad things about us but I just choose to leave.

Because of that people, I'm thinking if I will go to that company if ever. It's look like the environment is not good for my mental health. On the other hand, there's a part on me who really wants there and prove to myself that they are wrong on all of the things that they said. But right now, I also applying for the other companies. If there's an interview, I also go so that I have a choices for my internship.

I can say that my first interview is challenging but it is a satisfying one. I realize that it is not easy to find a job. You need to undergo with a lot of process before you obtain your desire. I'm happy that I experienced this kind of interview, at least I have a background what will happened on my next interviews. I hope that other companies will also called me for an interview. If I'm not mistaken, our internship will be start next month. I really hope for the best internship experience for me. As I've said, I got very tired so I sleep early yesterday. My mind is also too hard to guess that abstract test haha.

~~~~

So I guess that's all for tonight, have a great night for us!!


2
$ 0.21
$ 0.20 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.01 from @Winx1988
Sponsors of Mayiee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mayiee
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Interesting internship interview. I wonder if the guard gossip was part of it. I'd hope not that would definitely throw curve balls in accepting a position there.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Its a good chance to show what you've got during internship, hope that it can enhance more with your skills knowledge. God bless u.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you po ate, I really hope so too

$ 0.00
1 year ago