Different Beliefs about Butterfly: Filipino Culture

2 184
Avatar for Maya
Written by
3 years ago

Have you heard about the different superstitious belief about the visit of any butterfly to your house especially when it's color is black, white or yellow?

They say it's a bad luck when a black butterfly visits your house. Some other say that someone in a family will bid goodbye forever. They mean it's a sign of grief. On the other hand, some of our ancestors say that black butterfly is a representation of someone who died in the family. They somewhat talk to the butterfly, give thanks for the visit and beg for guidance.

In contrary, others say it's a good luck when a yellow or white butterfly flies around your house. It's a sign that you will be having a lot of money in the near future or a great opportunity will be knocking on your doorstep. In short, these butterflies signify hope for most of Filipino families.

I am a Filipino, but I do not believe in such superstitions. I respect other's beliefs because that's what they believe and I have nothing to do with that. It's just a matter of our own perspectives in life that make us tight on some beliefs.

If you saw a flying black butterfly inside or around your house and you believe that it will bring bad luck to the family, then, it's your perspective. I respect that. But if you are aware that butterflies live a very short life span and find some place where they can rest, then, you have other perspective about it. You either drive the butterfly away or keep them gently in your hands and put them in the garden.

These thoughts just came up in my mind when my son saw a beautiful dotted black butterfly flying around our house and these beliefs made me remember about my relatives.

I saw he is caring it gently; put it in his hands, came to me and said "Mommy, I saw this butterfly that seems so tired."

This is the second time he saw such beautiful butterfly. The butterfly is dying that's why it finds some place to rest. I took pictures of it before it dies and I really love it's beautiful color.

Do you like butterflies too? What do you believe about butterflies? You are free to comment your opinion.

Thank you.

3
$ 0.78
$ 0.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Maya
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

very nice artice. Pinas has wonderful habitat and unique beliefs about butterfly. check my latest posts please.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks. It's a compliment 😍

Sure. I'll visit❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago