The Road Trip

1 24
Avatar for May_ree
1 year ago

It is yet another day in my life, as I take a bus heading to my workplace. It is a 45 minutes trip but in such short time, a lot happens to make it  seem a like a whole day happened already. 
I always take the window seat because, I like the feel of the wind blowing on my face and also because I want a clear view of the scenery.

Image from Unsplash

A lot happens during this short trip. I appreciate, notice and reflect on all that happens around me during this trip.
I take time to reflect on the past, present and future. I reflect on what could have been and what I wish for.
I reflect on the things I would like to redo. I reflect on things I wished I did not do and things I wished that happened instead. I go down memory lane, trying to savour every drop of my sweet moments. I reflect on my happy moments which immediately puts a smile on my face. I think of my sad and angry moments and how I could have better handled those situations. This trip also serves as my daydream or fantasy time. What better time than then right? Because, once I step off the bus, it is reality time.

Image from Unsplash

I think of my family and how I could have been a better sibling and child to them. I think of how I could have shown much love and appreciation to them. I think of how I could have been more supportive, caring, responsive and available for them. I think of ways to strengthen my relationship with each family member.

I think of the people in my life. I think of how I have hurt them and how they have hurt me. I think of how the relationship would have been much better if certain compromises had been made on both ends.
I reflect on my life. I think of ways to improve in many areas of my life. I think of the things I need to cut off, the things I need to appreciate more, the things I need to prioritize more. I think of how to express myself better and how to communicate correctly with people. I think of how to let go of things that weigh me down.
I reflect a lot during this 45 minutes trip and this is not all I do.

Image from Unsplash

I take notice of everything happening around me. I notice the hawkers on the road as they zealously make a living. I notice how green the trees and grass look. I notice the mood of each passerby, the happy ones, the eager ones, the sad ones and so many others. I notice that some of the other passengers in the bus are also as reflective as I am. I notice some passengers engage in conversations with themselves while some are on a phonecall. I notice the nursing mother beside me trying to calm her baby. I notice the nosy passenger trying to be in everyone's business. I notice the driver's attitude as he carries out his business. I notice how jovial and approachable he is. I notice other drivers in the traffic and how impatient some are.
You can see why I said the roadtrip seems like a day happened already right? A lot can happen in such short time.

Image from Unsplash

Sometimes I am overwhelmed by my thoughts, the scenery, the pedestrians, music, fellow passengers or any current happenings around. The scenery during this road trip is amazing and it sets me in a mood. The mood varies, it could be a happy, sad, grateful or reflective mood. Sometimes I listen to good music in order to enjoy the trip.
Whether long or short distance road trip, it is a whole different and new experience everyday. Not everyone is a fan of roadtrip especially the long distance kind, but if you let go of the anxiety, distractions, tension and all that could or may hinder you from enjoying the ride, you would see just how beautiful a roadtrip can be.

4
$ 0.22
$ 0.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for May_ree
1 year ago

Comments

Nice experience, like me I hate long distance road trip., I’m scared of the moving trucks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago