What to know about yams. Welcome to BCH farm

14 135
Avatar for Maxdevalue.BCH
1 year ago

Food security in developing countries is very key to their economy and health. And this is what i do; sustainable farming in West Africa, Nigeria.

Today, I’m going to take you to my barn where i store my farm produce, and I’m going to take you to yam section of my multipurpose farm. From there, I’ll tell you things you may like to know about this wonderful food plant.

Yam tubers are common in Africa. It’s among the major sources of carbohydrates or energy rich foods found in most Africa countries and Asia. It’s gradually becoming popular in Europe and America too.

I cultivates yam in large quantity; for my family needs, for my neighbors, and for open market where I sell the excess.

To preserve yams after harvest, you must provide cool and well ventilated area for yam storage. Cultivation of yam takes place at winter; around March and April, people have started cultivating yams.

The evidence that the yams are ready to be cultivated could be found from pictures below (sprouting yams). Local farmers used to store their yams in cool areas of their home which they obtain by covering their yams with dry grasses from their farms.

For me, I think it’s good to always go with newer foundings and better innovations. I stored my yams inside Bitcoin Cash house. It’s a house built with crypto currency (Bitcoin Cash), it was built for this purpose; a place where my community members can access organic foods produced in my multipurpose farm. People can buy with Bitcoin Cash, usd, or with fiat, but we offer good discount for those buying with BCH

The importance of storing yam in cool places is to avoid it spoilage, yams doesn’t like heat, heated environment could make to ferment or decay within 48hrs. But if properly stored, yams may stay up to 1 year without getting bad. Healthy yams sprouts around March; or as soon as it starts raining.

Looking at my pictures, you may observe two species of yam; one is sprouting while the other is domicile. The sprouting yam from the picture is called ‘water yam’ I don’t know the botanical name for it, but it high in water content and doesn’t contain much sugar, it sprouts very fast because it has enough water in itself that can sustain its stem to or above 6 meters long on a pole without the soil.

It’s the only yam type that is being recommended for diabetic patients because of its very low sugar content.

The other yarm specie in the picture is called white yam by my people. It’s an energy food as it contains sugar and highy in carbohydrates. It doesn’t contain lots of water; this is the reason why they find sprouting so difficult without being buried in the soil for moisture or rain.

Young folks and youths prefer this type to the first one (water yam) because of its sweetness and flavor. But elderly ones would prefer the water yam over the white yam because of its nutritional values and health benefits.

I cultivates up to 10 tons of yam tubas in my farm starting years back; after I received some support from Bitcoin Cash community in establishing bigger farm than what I had earlier.

I’m proudly a farmer, and I found farming natural and friendly; as it brings me closer to nature and to my environment. I delight so much joy from farming. From the picture above, you could see me planting yam tubas inside our multipurpose farm.

I hope you’re able to pick one or two things from my farm update today. Send me some comments and let me know how you feel; you can ask questions or send your contributions. Remember, I really do appreciate your constant support.

See you again in our farm next time.

13
$ 3.02
$ 1.11 from @Telesfor
$ 1.00 from @emergent_reasons
$ 0.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Maxdevalue.BCH
empty
empty
Avatar for Maxdevalue.BCH
1 year ago

Comments

You prove impressively what is possible with hard-working hands and a clever head. I bow down before you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Do you know that we’re all connected in our souls; people may think that I do these things, no, we do them together. Wonderful friends as you stands with me always, and I tap from your strength.

Each time I work, I’m encouraged and strengthened knowing that I have people like you that I will always share my stories with.

Thank you Telesfor.

$ 0.06
1 year ago

Well-done brother, people like you are invaluable in a country such as ours. Your good work do not only ensure that your family have food to eat but also it helps to feed the nation.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is great. It's my first time reading your article and I have learnt some things. My father plants yam too but we are constantly disturbed by cow rearers who uproot them for their animals.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One of the besttt snackkk in the world! My favorite! I love yam when fried with sugar, boiled, and mixed in one of the best Filipino dessert soup called 'bingnit'. What I also love about it is that you can just plant it in the backyard and make use of the plant for viand. I'm amazed you got to use Bitcoin cash to build a storehouse for those harvested ones. May God bless your farm more!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish i could grow it here it pakistan . I never heard its name before. And i am curious that which type of yams will give more production white or the water yams. Well you have kept it in bch house... The place must be awesome like it's name... Does it grows like potatoes ????? One more question. Do you give this yams free to your neighbors or you charge from them????

$ 0.20
1 year ago

Good enquiries! Thanks for reading through.

Water yam type can survive almost everywhere and it yields very well.

Yams are root plants just like potatoes yes, but the difference is that yams needs sticking; that’s poles to climb on while potatoes can do well on the ground surface.

I give free food to my neighbors as long as it’s for their consumption; less privileged, orphans, elderly and sickly who doesn’t work anymore, it’s always free. But for working class and able men and women I charge, except for exceptional reasons.

I hope I’m able to answer your questions. Thanks for reading carefully. I really appreciate such.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, your answers are satisfactory. You always won my heart, with your generosity, i really appreciate your efforts on providing needy people with free fruits and vegetables. And here also on readcash. Respect 😍❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am happy to see that you harvested a lot of yams. It is also a good strategy to support Bitcoincash by accepting it as a mode of payment.

$ 0.20
1 year ago

Thanks for coming around. You made a good point; using Bitcoin Cash for payment; for goods and services.

Bitcoin cash is money, I also have a minimart that accepts Bitcoin Cash for payment. You can find it on my recent article.

Supporting Bitcoin Cash is our duty, besides, it’s 50/50 to me because Bitcoin Cash also supports my businesses.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am wish your businesses will continue to succeed just like Bitcoincash. I hope I could also find a business here in my country that accpets Bitcoincash as mode of payment to any services or goods.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

“ I hope I could also find a business here in my country that accpets Bitcoincash as mode of payment to any services or goods”

You can create one, you can startup small business that accepts Bitcoin Cash for payment.

Bitcoin isn’t a legal tender yet in my country, but neither is government stopping people from using it except banks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

"10 tons of yam tubas in my farm starting years back" ❕ You have been busy and growing your farm over the years. Happy to see your success.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I’ve been cultivating yams over the years, but Bitcoin Cash community gave it a boost through flipstarter and other supports

$ 0.00
1 year ago