Max’s farm activities within the week

5 117
Avatar for Maxdevalue.BCH
2 years ago

Harvest, market, new discoveries, plans

Welcome to Max’s BCH farm. In this article, we’ll talk about my harvest experience. I encountered bountiful harvest from my crops this week.

The status of my flipstarter campaign

Before you continue on exploring my recent farming activities, I’d love to share with you the update of my flipstarter campaign which started 8 days ago and ends in 12 days coming.

On February 20th, I started a flipstarter campaign; requesting 248 BCH to accomplish two main goals:

1. BCH Center - Shift the growing amount of farm and BCH community activity out of my home so that it can be more professional and my family can have some privacy.

2. BCH Multipurpose Farm - Expand from current 1 hectare of farming into a larger, more diverse, more sustainable setup that employs more local people and increases food security for my community. Please support this flipstarter using below link.

https://maxbchfarm.ftw.fund/

Thanks so much for supporting this flipstarter campaign; @Throwingstones, @Steve2048, @cheapLightning, @Anonymous metal bird, @emergent_reasons, @Anonymous, @The BCH dude, @zguestz, and @molecular. So far has pledged for my flipstarter campaign. I appreciate those that will still pledge, I’m happy that you’ve identified with my little effort in contributing to humanity using Bitcoin Cash.


My cucumber harvest 🥒

Cucumber is vine plant found in my farm, it’s one of my favorite vegetable 🥦 🥗 🥕 plants. Initially, it was very hard for me and other neighboring farmers to cultivate this type of vegetables that demands lots of watering, but since the introduction of BCH water tanker and irrigation system, we’ve been able to conquered our challenges and fear because we can now dispatch water to our vegetable farms with BCH water tanker.

My cucumber farm

Cucumber like every other vegetables demands lots of work; it demands multiple hands to make the cultivation a successful one. I employed few workers that currently work with me. Some of them with smartphones receive BCH payment for their services.

bags of cucumber ready for farmers market

Harvesting of cucumber happens in the night or early in the morning of the market day; this is a way of making sure that our vegetables remain very fresh and strong for our customers in the local farmers market.

Currently inside the market to sell my cucumber

Harvest happens every 4 days at the peak season of cucumber, but as they reduce production due to age, harvesting them drops to weekly basis. In the picture above is farmer’s market where vegetables and farm produce are sold in my region. My region is a good market for food items and vegetables because demand is always more than the supply. Looking at the pictures above, you could see my workers offloading our sold cucumbers. Also in view are big trucks which business men and women who purchase from local farmers use in taking their purchases to different parts of the country.

My yam harvest

February 2022 yam harvest

Currently my harvested yam has started feeding many poor homes. I had good and bountiful harvest this year, these are my cultivations of last year which are now being harvested. 50% of my yam are being preserved for the upcoming farming season while 20% will be sold for money that is needed for the upcoming farming season. The remaining 30% is reserved as food; for my family and for the less privileged around my community.

Heap of yam, ready to be sorted by sizes

Harvested yams are sorted and parked according to sizes, and their sizes determine the purpose that they’ll serve. Usually, big sizes are reserved for food and for the market while medium size are good for planting; these are the groups that will produce big sizes in the next harvest. The small sizes goes to nursery farms where they’re cultivated and giving special care. The small sized yams are so precious to farmers because they’re the ones that are being nurtured until they become bigger enough for food and for the market.

My truck loads of yam is powered by BCH

Before now, I usually produce just few bags of yam for my family and for few poor families around, but from last year, my farming capacity has grown to a certain level that I now harvest with mini-truck 🛻 which now serves more families in my community while the excess is sold at the market. Cassava and yam are the main source of carbohydrate rich food in West Africa. Almost everyone here depends on these two crops for their carbohydrates and starch needs.

Plantain gardening activities

If you’ve been following my farming activity updates, you may remember when I wrote about how I transplanted dying plantains from where they’re abandoned by some farmers last 4 months (2nd October 2021) You can revisit the article here: https://read.cash/@Maxdevalue.BCH/eco-friendly-birthday-cecbc5c8

My plantain garden is doing very well, within 4 months, they’ve started producing

Because of BCH water supply, I’m able to take good care of my farming within passed 2021.

The plantain that you’re seeing above has grown and have started producing. They’re my birthday plants; I planted them to mark my 2021 birthday celebration. As a farmer, I try to creat my calendars and reminders in a natural way. Thanks to BCH irrigation project that enabled constant watering of the banana garden.

Dry season plantain harvest is now possible because of BCH irrigation
My banana trees are giants in size


These pictures were taken from my plantain garden close to my house. I’m going to include this species in my BCH 2 hectare farm for food security. Plantain is rich in iron, and other minerals; and many families and the elderly ones depends on the meal for a healthy living.

Bitcoin Cash weekly news

I really appreciate Satoshi’s Angels community for listing my flipstarter campaign ( https://maxbchfarm.ftw.fund/) on the BCH weekly news. https://twitter.com/satoshiangels/status/1498258792781578240?s=21

Thanks for your encouragement and for your support.

8
$ 29.20
$ 26.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.11 from @Telesfor
$ 1.00 from @btcfork
+ 3
Sponsors of Maxdevalue.BCH
empty
empty
Avatar for Maxdevalue.BCH
2 years ago

Comments

Farming is a demanding and admirable job from start to finish. The hard work makes this profession sacred. Very successfully harvested products.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You nailed it! Thanks for those encouraging words. Imagine what life would be without farming

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are really doing a great job in your community. I pray you to have greater turnover in seasons to come.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for wishing me well. My people will also appreciate this. I need such encouraging words always.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We need to encourage good efforts not minding where and who is doing so.

$ 0.00
2 years ago