Paris: The City of Love

0 23
Avatar for Matterhorn
2 years ago

The Air France plane landed safely at Charles de Gorge’s Airport after 10 hours of flight from Bogota, Colombia. The immigration clearance and luggage claims were uneventful. I then took a shuttle service from the airport for my airport transfer to my accommodation in Paris central city. I have booked a short stay at Best Western Hotel Opera Drouot, formerly known as Comfort Opera Drouot Hotel, a 3-star hotel located at 4 Rue de la Grange Batelière, 75009 Paris.

Later that afternoon, I went for a walk around the hotel surrounding after checked-in my luggage in my hotel room. I changed to my sweater as the outside temperature was speculated around 16°c that day. I bought a simple Japanese Bento from the Sushi restaurant situated in front of the hotel for my dinner costs around 10 euros. 

 

The next day evening, I have met up with my local tour guide, Mr. Lim. I am so blessed that the Paris trip was an extended blessing from Colombia’s trip. Mr. Lim was the elder brother of my friend who worked as a sushi chef and has been staying in Paris for more than 10 years. He was so kind that he brought me a bowl of delicious sashimi (come with fresh salmon, tuna, and sea bass) which I am so grateful for.

He then gave me three hours of a guided walking tour around the city of Paris, but before the short tour, Mr. Lim gave me the advice to keep all my valuables inside my sweater to avoid unnecessary trouble such as the incident of a pickpocket. The evening tour includes various place as listed below:

 

The Evening Walking Tour

After 10 minutes of walking distance from the hotel, we reached our first stop:

Palais Garnier or Garnier Palace

(Photo taken from Unsplash)

 This expensive piece of architecture was planned and designed by the well-known architect, Charles Garnier and it has become famous for being the setting for “The Phantom of the Opera (1986 Musical)”. I took a photo for remembrance as its unique design caught my attention.

 

The Ritz Hotel

 

The moment when we passed through The Ritz Hotel, suddenly I recalled back to the news that Princess Diana and her companion were last seen before their fatal accident on 31st August 1997. Mr. Lim confirmed the originality of the news.

 

Jardin des Tuileries Garden

Upon reaching Jardin des Tuileries Garden, I noticed the whole garden was undergoing a regrowing process after the long winter. It was not like the usual beautiful garden that one might be expected to admire especially in May in Paris but yet I saw the garden was packed with tourists like me as well there were many Parisians families come out from their house to enjoys their evening stroll and relaxed moment in the garden.

 

Place de la Concorde

 

(Photo taken from Unsplash)

Not far from the garden, I was excited to see something that was so familiar that I saw in the Transformer movie. It was the Fontaines de la Concorde, I managed to take few posts as a shred of evidence to prove my presence there.

 

Pont Alexandre III

 

(Photo taken from Unsplash)

We continued our journey until we reached a deck arch bridge, named Pont Alexandre III. It is the resemblance of the same Westminster Bridge, London that I have visited years earlier. The bridge was crowded, people are traveling on SegWheel scooter and electric bicycles above and cruises that worked non-stop ferrying tourists through the Seine river below.

 

Avenue des Champs-Élysées 

 

I remembered my tour agent, who has helped me arrange the whole Colombia trip, she mentioned to me that I should consider getting myself an original brand handbag if I happened to visit the Avenue des Champs-Élysées.

 

As I walk along the two-kilometer sidewalk of the avenue, I observed there were many shops and department stores that sell the most luxurious and expensive brands of adult/children fashion and leather goods, watches, jewelry, cosmetics, perfumes, and others. At that moment, I can only admire and maybe just enjoyed the window-shopping experience, because the price of a piece of a lady's garment selling price is equivalent to the price of one-third of the total cost of my flight ticket.

 

Arc de Triomphe

 

(Photo taken from Unsplash)

The final tourist destination of my walking tour was the Arc de Triomphe, located at the western end of the Avenue des Champs-Élysées. Arc de Triomphe was among the most iconic tourist attractions in Paris apart from Eiffel Tower, The Louvre Museum, and des Champs-Élysées. Seeing there was no traffic marking lines on the road, I asked myself how the Parisian road user managed to keep themselves from hitting each other on that busy road.

After the three hours tiring-cum-enjoying evening walk, I returned to my hotel room, enjoying my sashimi on the comfortable bed while watching France television broadcasting news with the natural cold spring breeze filled the room.

 

*******

Travel Tips

  • Do buy/stock some food (energy booster) in the room (tip bits, snack, etc) if you happened to visit Paris during the cold season.

  • Be at good stamina if you want to enjoy Paris tourist attractions on foot.

  • Do wear a sweater with a hood or bring an umbrella, just in case its rains.

  • Bring along a quality camera, as you might not be able to visit the city of Paris again in a long time.

  • Do separate your money into 2 separate portions, do not show your cash in the public.

Learning points

  • It is safe to drink water directly from the hotel water tap, it is drinkable.

  • Beware of pickpocket particularly in crowded areas.

  • Be ready with enough cash, especially in euro currency.

  • If you need to bring along your small backpack, please make sure do not keep any valuable belongings inside.

Things to avoid

  • No staring/exchange eye contact with the unknown opposite sex, even if you are curious as it might signal a wrong body language.

 

Do not forget to follow my next Paris series, Cruise and Illuminations of Paris (by Minibus). 

(Lead image taken from Unsplash)

2
$ 0.10
$ 0.10 from @heartbeat1515
Sponsors of Matterhorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Matterhorn
2 years ago

Comments