Why Taking A Break is Essential

3 24
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

I've been inactive for a few days. I skipped my daily writing habit to give myself some space. I wanted a breather. Though 2-3 days of inactivity doesn't seem that much, for me it is already a big deal. When all your day revolves around numbers, analysis, memos, and correspondences, a quick break from spreadsheets and word processors is very much welcome. 

Photo Credits: Unsplash.com

I know how it feels to work with workaholic colleagues. Everything seems to move very fast whenever I'm with them. I feel guilty whenever I find myself lagging compared with what they accomplish. I admire them, but I also get tired for them. I am a person who functions best when things are peaceful and not as frantic as some of my friends are used to. 

I'm a firm believer of the Sabbath. It basically means a day of rest. Religious connotation defines Sabbath as a day of worship. But from its biblical roots, it traces back to the seventh day of Creation, when God ceased to work after a series of excellent work. This biblical account has a lot to tell us about the concept of taking a break and why is it essential.

It prepares us for another round of challenges 

Think of yourself as a battery that gets drained over time. As much as we want to work non-stop, there's a limitation to what we can do. We can't operate on an empty battery. We need to recharge so we can take up more. Notice how weak we feel when did not have enough sleep? Our bodies take a toll and our productivity is affected. So take a break, so you can accomplish more. 

Rest is a natural law of nature

There's a reason why there's night and day: periods to be productive and to rest. The problem with overwork is that we wear ourselves out and in turn, our bodies deteriorate. I notice that my overworked, workaholic colleagues easily get sick. A price to pay for ignoring the call of their bodies asking for rest. If machines need to undergo maintenance from time to time, all the more we need to! 

It is exemplified and mandated

It's interesting to note that it is not just suggested in the Scriptures, but also mandated - part of the Ten Commandments. I find it generous! Earthly bosses would love their employees to work non-stop for "continued production", but God orders us to rest, and He even demonstrated it! There's got to be a reason for it! Clue: It's a holy thing to do! Rest frees us of our worries so we can focus on Him and Him alone. What a loving gesture. 

Why rest seems to be tiring

Sometimes, we get excited over the idea of a vacation, so we plan thoroughly and prepare all the things we might need for that vacation extraordinaire. We exhaust everything in advance so we'll have everything settled come our vacation day. 

When the much-awaited moment arrives and we find out that we missed out on some details, we get stressed. Our day eventually ends up ruined. While traveling, we rant about how long the trip is, how annoying the kids are, and how ill-prepared we are. We miss out on the bonding, we miss out on the sights and the few waves of laughter we could have shared with our company because we are already frustrated. As cliche as it sounds, but we missed out on the joy of the journey because we're too much focused on the destination. So the planned vacation extraordinaire turned out to be just another tiring day. 

Sometimes, it doesn't have to be too grand. It can be as simple as:

  1. Sleeping. Take out all the fanfare and grandiosity, just sleep. Wear those PJs and snuggle your favorite pillow and sleep. Let your cells and tissues regenerate. 

  2. Extended (hot) shower. Notice how fuzzy and rejuvenating the feeling is when we take hot showers? Not the rushed one before we brace the traffic, but an extended shower on a weekend. Feel the warmth. Relax and enjoy.

  3. Talk with your family. As in talk and discuss. Eat a meal together, without gadgets and distractions. Share stories. Laugh together. Pray together. It is priceless and relaxing to the soul.

I can go on and on but I guess you see the point. Take a break, savor it. Don't overdo life. If the God of Creations took a break and enjoyed it, why can't we? A life that is about constant chasing is boring. Win in life by frequent recharging. 


Promotion!

I would like to promote my ebooks that you can pay for with BCH! As of now, the only payment channel I have is the BCH payment channel. Other payment options are still in process. 

  • Magplano Kahit Walang Planner

  • Beyond Current Realities

These ebooks are written in Taglish and proceeds will go directly to my wedding fund, yay! My ebooks are worth Php50.00 (~$1.00) but if you get both, you'll get them for just Php90.00 (less than $2.00). Thank you!


Hi, I am Marts! Aside from read.cash, I also run my blog - martsvalenzuela.com. I plan on growing my readership while learning to improve my craft and journey towards my passion to write and publish books that add value to people.

Carpe Diem!

3
$ 4.26
$ 4.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Momentswithmatti
$ 0.05 from @mariteen
+ 1
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Congrats on your ebooks..yay wedding bells soon?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks! Pero next year pa, just working on it (and budgeting for it) in advance. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations in advance sir

$ 0.00
2 years ago