What is a Quality Content?

7 45
Avatar for Marts
Written by
3 years ago

I was scrolling through the Explore tab in noise when I stumbled upon this post: (u/Charlotte if you are reading this, thank you for the idea *wink wink*)

A screen clipping from noise.cash

To which I reply, when it adds value. That's my take on her question. Quality content means you don't just take your readers for a ride. You give them something in return. Just like when you enter a restaurant, you expect to get your share of their delicious menu, and the best customer service they can provide. You want value for your money. You do not give out your hard-earned money in exchange for nothing. 

So whenever you write a post, make sure it is worth your readers' time. 

But what else constitutes quality content? I have several answers to add:

When it adheres to accepted conventions of writing.

I don't know with some but I think writing can be both an art and a science. When I say art creativity and freedom are at play. You can write however you want to write, whatever POV you want to employ, use words you want to use. It's up to you. It is your expression. But to be understood, you need to follow the rules of grammar, composition, form, and language. There have to be rules and conventions so people can understand each other and communicate well with one another. Otherwise, our words will fall on deaf ears.

When it relates to your readers.

Here's a story. I posted a review of Philip Yancey's book, "The Jesus I Never Knew". Usually, when I post an article here, I get a couple of views after a few hours. But that post has not gained anything yet. Perhaps it is because it doesn't relate to my readers. But when I posted my article about "My Journey as a Writer" and "Life Before and After the Internet", it generated some buzz. It attracted some upvotes and comments. This is because people can relate to the topics. 

No matter how carefully crafted and grammatically perfect your article is, if no one can relate to what you are saying, you are missing the point. 

Photo Credits: Unsplash.com

When the content is welcoming

Readers are like visitors. They enter your house through the door - your house is your blog and the door is the title. When your door is unwelcoming, they will not bother entering. Likewise, when your title is uninteresting, they will just let your article slide.

But some visitors enter the house because of what's inside. In this case, they know that the interiors are good, the ambiance is conducive, and very welcoming. But this only happens when they know the host personally. When they know that he is hospitable. Following our analogy, when a writer has gained a reputation for himself, people will read his work no matter how plain or dull his titles are. People stay because they feel engaged. They feel welcome. They think "This is my kind of blog! This is my kind of article! This is worth my time."

When it stirs the emotion and prompts action

Quality content stirs the emotion. It can be entertaining, informative, mind-changing, or leads one into introspection. This is a reiteration of my point in adding value. This is what makes content worth reading. 

When I read a novel, which I seldom do because I'm more into self-help and practical books, I read the blurb first and then few lines from a random page. You can easily spot a good story based on how engaging it is. It stirs emotion. 

In the case of self-help books, when it convicts me to do something and when it has a clear call-to-action, I can say it has quality content. Again, you don't spend much time reading something when it leaves you feeling "meh". 

These are my thoughts when it comes to quality content. But at the end of the day, quality is subjective. What may seem quality to me may look petty to others. It's a matter of preference. 

What's quality content for you?


Hi, I am Marts! I am a writer, and aside from my stint here in read.cash, I also have my own blog - martsvalenzuela.com. I appreciate it if you pay me a visit! I plan on growing my readership as I learn to improve my craft and journey towards my passion to write and publish books that add value to people. 

9
$ 9.31
$ 9.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @immaryandmerry
+ 1
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Thank you. I need these.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dude! This line : "I don't know with some but I think writing can be both an art and a science. " My exact same sentiment.

I find it real astonishing that when you are writing, you can be as wild as possible, as free as you can be while at the same time staying within the lines of acceptable writing.

This really is a good read. Thanks!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you! Honestly I really don't know what to say hehe 😅 Appreciate your comment!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article you have here kuya. I have a lot of takeaways from this. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have thought about this, it seems we need to find a topic that will engage and interest others, not only ourselves. As you point out we can spend a long time writing an article, taking great care and doing lots of research into our chosen topic, but if people are not interested we won't get very far. I enjoyed your article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
3 years ago