Welcome to the Age of Influencers

6 39
Avatar for Marts
Written by
1 year ago

We are now in the age of influencers. Content creators rose in popularity, in fact even greater than traditional celebrities, thanks to several social media platforms. In our country, it's evident that TV personalities are now shifting to digital platforms and content because people are slowly giving up free TV for streaming sites and video on demand. This a massive opportunity for content creators AKA influencers. We are now on a leveled playing field. 

I've never been an avid fan of any celebrity, except for a few crushes perhaps. But many people in my generation and the generation that followed are so into celebrities and influencers. I don't judge them. To each their own. But because everyone now has equal access and opportunity to the realm of social media and the internet, I believe we have to be more careful with the influences we consume. 

Choose your influencers, as they say.

What are the things we should consider in choosing the content we consume? I have the following suggestions:

Their message

Their message has to be authentic, but more than being real, the message has to be beneficial. It's easy to be entertained--we have it at the tip of our fingers! But we are not always after entertainment, so when it comes to informative content, let's choose the ones that are true, beneficial, and that add value. 

We are swimming in a sea of information. If we are not careful, we may be subscribing to ideas that may be skewed, propagandist, or just plainly toxic and hateful in nature. We don't want that. We shouldn't want that. Our minds must subscribe to "whatever is true, noble, right, pure, lovely, admirable, excellent, and praiseworthy." 

We want our rooms to be clean and tidy, so it must follow that we keep our minds off of trash too!

Their fruits

It's easy to preach one thing and live another. Words should complement actions. The walk must precede the talk. Otherwise, we are just hearing a message but not really seeing the results. There should be no dichotomy. 

Of course, no influencer, content creator, or public personality is perfect. But it helps if I can see how they fare with what niche they talk about. I listen to podcasts of financial and investment gurus when I want to learn about money management and budgeting. I listen to teachings from the writers themselves whenever I want to know about writing. 

It doesn't mean that I don't listen to amateurs or read from newbies. I welcome fresh ideas! But what I am saying is the fruits add up to the credibility of the message. You don't take advice about marriage and commitment from someone who has jumped from one relationship to another. 

Their passion

The first two are crucial, but this one is a bonus. 

Passion brings results. I guess some of you will agree with me that we can sense a person's sincerity through actions. We know if someone's doing a thing for mere fringe benefits, and we know if the motivation comes from within. 

I remember some vloggers who started with nothing and now they are at the peak of their vlogging careers! They inspire and do not brag. And I guess some are just showing off what they have just to brag and not to inspire. 

Passion flows. Passion is contagious. If an influencer is true about his causes, he'll create passionate followers. Imagine if passion is coupled with a good message and a credible testimony. What an amazing movement they can make!

The age of influencers has taken over. As I end, my encouragement is this: choose your influencers wisely. You don't want to be influenced negatively. 

6
$ 0.87
$ 0.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Bisolammy
$ 0.01 from @Momentswithmatti
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I used to sa watched vlogs on yt, but I choose content in which I can learned something, either any tips or diy for a mom, and mostly I watched cooking vlogs. We should always be mindful what content do they have, because they can affect us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

cooking vlogs the best! lalo sa madaling araw haha! nakakagutom lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're very right. We need to choose our influencers wisely because some of gem may be passing information that is not very beneficial to us. We need to be careful of the information that we digest

$ 0.00
1 year ago

indeed. some influencers are not really for information but just for monetization

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is so true sir... I don't watch vlogs often now though as I know they all are just after views and their actions are not a good influence on my life... it is just right to really filter those who would bring good and Godly influence instead

$ 0.00
1 year ago

true ate. their craving for view sometimes cloud their judgment

$ 0.00
1 year ago