Today, I Resisted the Urge to Bring Home Work

4 26
Avatar for Marts
Written by
1 year ago

This week is one of the rare times when we don't have our boss around in the office. But it's not that we can just do whatever we like. It's not like, "when the mouse is away, the mice will play." We have a lot of things to do, only we are free to work around our schedule. Our focus is output.

To be honest, I was looking forward to this week because I want to face off squarely with all my tasks with little to no interruptions. 

As soon as came to the office Monday morning, I listed down all my TO DOs and started working on them. I love it every time I cross out an item on my list!

And today, I just finished the second day of my boss-free week and I think I'm gaining momentum! And it crossed my mind to bring home some work so I can expedite my job even more. I have my laptop at home, a good internet connection, and some time to spare if I wanted to. Sounds like a plan, right? But I hesitated. I struggled with the idea.

Delineate between work, rest, and leisure

There's nothing wrong with my idea of bringing home some work but I realize, what's the use of personal time management if all I'll ever squeeze into my schedule are things related to my job? As my boss (and other productivity gurus I read online), we are not indispensable in the office (in my case, ministry). When our health fails us and we can no longer do the things we are doing now, in a span of a week or two somebody will already take your place. Don't overcommit yourself to the work that you no longer have time for rest and leisure. 

As I've mentioned, I have ample time to work in the office, so there's no need to rush things into completion. If I really wanted to expedite my productivity, I could work double-time, perhaps? Or commit to a distraction-free zone so I'll be more in tune with what I'm doing. 

Respect your Maker

We are not created for non-stop work. We are also made for relationships and rest. Our 24 hours should be appropriately divided between work, rest, and time to spend with people around us. The problem happens when there is no balance between this three-way scale. Too much time on work leaves us little time for family, friends, and personal time. Too much time to rest leads to a compromised work schedule. Too much time with people around us will lessen our time to do productive things. There should be a healthy balance between these three.

When we function according to our design, it speaks respect to our Maker. We don't buy a Television set just to display it in our living room. Somehow we need to use it to maximize its functionality. We don't install an air conditioning unit in our rooms just so we can have something to put on our bare walls. We need to use it so it can give us cool air during humid days. We use things according to their intended function. The same goes for our bodies. We are created for a purpose, and it's not just about work. 

I feel a bit guilty for not heeding my own advice during my early days as an employee. I equate working overtime with productivity. But later did I know that lasting productivity isn't only measured by what we can produce now, but also by how we can sustain our healthy bodies so we can continuously be effective and productive. 

5
$ 4.06
$ 3.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Cleophia2
$ 0.02 from @Momentswithmatti
+ 1
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

This is very appropriate to me now. I use to abuse my time and myself working and working, even weekends are not rest days anymore. I forgot my social life due to my work, and it's suffocating. And then I realized, that to rest and to breath are what we need somehow to regain our strength and be productive.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am guilty of this because really I didn't have time for my family and friends and even myself due to the kind of job that I have now, hopefully, the time will come when I can enjoy my existence together with my loved ones.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is I worked out regularly because our bodies are not meant to seat in a strenuous way. I remind myself to stretch every 30 minutes too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

that's good.. in fact, my husband's company has been very good at this, they would not even ask for overtime because they value the family time that each employee should allocate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago