Rooting for You!

3 12
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

It's just a simple word but it packs a punch. It means that you have someone at your back, pushing you to move forward and ready to catch you in case you fall. It means someone is cheering for you from the ringside, believing in what you can do, and making sure you know it. It means you are not alone.

I have a friend who often tells me that. When I confess problems or self-limiting issues, she rebukes me outright and reminds me of the things I am capable of and how I can overcome my negative thoughts. She makes me look past my inhibitions to see the bigger picture - that I can do great things if only I believe in myself!

It's easy for me to dismiss her encouragements, and consider them as a plain pep talk and toxic positivity, but it's hard to miss the sincerity in her speech and actions. She's a natural-born cheerleader. 

In our group, she is very consistent with this attitude. She always makes sure that we think highly of ourselves, that we are not discrediting the things we are capable of. 

Just recently, she helped one of our friends with his job application at the National Museum. From application letters, interview tips, and encouraging words, her generosity overflows!

Power of Encouragement

Do you have an encouraging friend? Someone who knows the right word to say, the right way to say it, and when to say it? Consider yourself blessed if you have one. Because that kind of friend is the one you need during your most difficult moments.

Imagine what simple words can do to a person. As I've mentioned in my previous article, my teacher encouraged me to believe in myself, and somehow I was able to accomplish things because of that one voice who believed in me. 

On the contrary, the results of deprivation from positive words and encouragement are appalling: self-pity, low self-esteem, anxiety, and even depression. 

Some teenagers I know would rather be involved with their "friends" than with their families because they seldom hear positive words from people who should be their refuge at home. These friends can either be a good or bad influence on them, and they don't care.

Spill Encouragement

We are surrounded by hurting people. These people might be smiling on the outside but they are broken and hurting deep within. Perhaps they heard senseless words from their parents or curses from their loved ones. They may have heard insults from bosses, clients, or even strangers. Words are like sharp-pointed arrows piercing through our hearts. 

What we can do is spread encouragement in every way possible. At least we can appease their hurts, or soothe their wounds. 

I am very much grateful to my friend who cheers me up and encourages me from time to time. But I know I can perpetuate what she does for me as I cheer up the people around me as well. We can pass encouragement forward! It doesn't cost us anything, just a little kind word and a positive gesture can do great things for people.

Time and again our country has been hailed as one of the countries with the happiest people on earth. I agree! But we can couple this happiness with kindness as well. We can cheer each other up, not just on the outside but more so on the inside. We can build each other up, especially those whose walls crumbled because of someone else's insensitive remarks and crude insults.

Let us be a people of encouragement. We have the power and capacity to inspire someone today. Use it generously.

Rooting for you, dear reader!

5
$ 2.66
$ 2.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @TheGuy
$ 0.02 from @Momentswithmatti
+ 1
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I have no one like that but I am the one who never hesitates to encourage anyone, obviously when the choice is good. For now my conscience is doing the encouragement job.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have met several people who had encouraged me and I praise God for these people...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is always that one person who would serve as an encourager and motivator to us. Someone who would always say "I'm rooting for you". It definitely means they believe in us and we also shouldn't let them down.

$ 0.00
2 years ago