Life's Unsung Heroes

7 13
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

When I was still a child, I dreamt of becoming the President of the Philippines. As an innocent mind, I have no idea what a president does but I thought it is the ultimate dream of any individual. He's the boss of the country, so I thought.

But when I heard my classmates and friends answering the question "what would like to be when you grow up?" I often hear common answers - doctors, teachers, pilots. I noticed I have no competition in the presidency!

Until the desire to be a president waned. I don't know why. Perhaps it was because of the 90s anime that made me want to be a Super Saiyan or sort of a Tuxedo Mask more than a politician. I wanted to be a hero. I wanted to be super!

I remember the times when I run mindlessly, jumping over carton boxes and mounds of soil and gravel. I felt invincible. I didn't care about my complexion. As far as I know, I am a hero always to the rescue of my damsels in distress - my cheeky-cheeky childhood crushes. 

Then I had my first fistfight. I cannot even consider that a fistfight because after I sucker-punched the bully, I was the one who cried first. I realize at a young age, that it's not easy to be a hero. I am the one who needs saving. 

Dream big

Time caught up and so did my maturity. As I age, I learned that superheroes are just figments of my imagination due to my young age. But when you grow up, you learn that heroes are not those in capes, wearing misplaced underwear, but those who inspire others to be better versions of themselves. 

Just like the people who influenced us while we were young to dream big for ourselves. Those who introduced us to the concept that we can be presidents, we can be doctors, pilots, or teachers. They are our unsung heroes. 

Life is about relationships. And in relating with others, we leave a mark in their lives. We touch their hearts. The question is are we inspiring them to be better, or do we just drag them down, be it intentionally or not?

Real life hero

My first encourager was my Grade 5 science teacher. As a meek little lad who is often bullied by my classmates, never have I imagined I will get someone's attention. But little did I know that a pair of eyes is watching me and rooting for me to come out of my shell.

She told me that I have the potential. And until I graduated from elementary, she haven't forgotten the things she told me! That I have the potential! 

When I passed the Science High School exams to which she told me to apply to, what she told me was "See, I told you, you can do it!" I never felt encouragement like that before aside from my parents. I really felt that someone really believed in what I can do and what I can accomplish. 

My teacher died even before I graduated from college. My regret is that I wasn't able to visit her during her later years. 

Fulfilling potential

I am no longer the lad who dreamt of becoming the country's boss or someone who pretends to be an anime superhero. My goal now is to perpetuate the legacy that my teacher gave me, to inspire at least one person to be better, to come out of the shell, and fulfill their potential. Who knows, I could be rooting for our future pilots, doctors, teachers, or even presidents of the republic!

Our encouragement goes a long way. Dispense it generously. 

5
$ 3.47
$ 3.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Momentswithmatti
$ 0.02 from @TheGuy
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

ganyan dapat ang papel ng mga teachers natin... na students would feel encouraged... super nice to know na merong nakapag appreciate sau and nakita ang potential mo sir at a young age...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga po. Though meron ding terror talaga at ayaw ko nang alalahanin haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe masaya yung may terror n teacher.. challenging hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well a kind of same thing happened with me, my English teacher pushed me to join an essay writing competition and she just said me don't think that you are average and can't win this competition. I know you can win this, your style of writing is different. You write better than than anyone of your age. Those words changed me I not only the compi but later from average I became a top 10 student until 10th standard. After that I got lost a bit haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe imagine how these encouraging words can motivate us as students to do our best! Simple words yet very meaningful to us, students :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life's really full of people who ought to be celebrated for their little efforts geared at making the world a better place

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree. These people are precious gems. Hope their tribes increase hundredfold!

$ 0.00
2 years ago