On Dreaming and Pursuing Them

0 22
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

I have a soft spot for students who study hard despite the challenges they face. It's a plus when a hardworking student takes it further with a side hustle to help his parents and augment his academic needs. Working students are indeed worthy of commendation and respect. 

I had the same predicament when I was younger. Life was challenging, and there were times when I felt so exhausted that I almost wanted to give up. But my dreams are greater than my struggles, and my goals are bigger than my challenges. 

Photo Credits: Unsplash.com

I remember working night shifts on a contact center, all while doing my Feasibility Studies in my senior year. It was exhausting physically and emotionally. Every day I come to school, I feel like I'm floating and sedated. I also served then as a school paper editor, which in turn help me with a stipend and a scholarship. During those times, both my parents were struggling with their respective work so I have to step up. Praise be to God, I was able to graduate despite it all. 

Your Efforts Determine The Size of Your Dream

How big is your dream? It's easy to answer the question what is your dream, but the size is a bit vague. But though it's difficult to determine the size, we can at least have an idea of the amount of effort given to attain it. 

Those with big dreams work night and day in their desire to climb the ladder of success. While others are already done for the day and are about to hit the sack, the goal-focused individual gives in extra effort to produce more. And while others are still sleeping, they are already awake ready to conquer the day. While others are bound by their 8-hour job, goal-focused people go beyond. 

Their motivation: their dream. An extra hour of work is too little a cost for the size of their dream. 

Your Values Determine The Kind of Your Dream

A person who knows how hard it is to earn money just to provide food on the table will value every cent more than a person who receives an allowance from his benefactors. People who have experienced the pain and frustration of having nothing to eat knows the importance of not wasting food. 

This is why I can't patronize students who don't value their time at school and has no regard for the sacrifices of their parents. I had classmates then who, instead of directly remitting their tuition fees to the cashier, deceive their parents for their vices and computer game addiction. I'm all for fun and memorable schooling experience, but I believe it's always possible without compromising integrity. 

How much you value your resources determine the kind of dream you have in mind. 

My Dream

I am glad to have ticked off some items from my bucket list, but I still have some bigger dreams to achieve. I am not saying that my efforts and values are all exceptional, but just like any other else, we all need some reminders and a little push. Just like what this post does to me - a personal note. And I hope you'll benefit from this too. 

What is your dream? Is your dream big enough? Is it worth pursuing? How are you exerting effort to achieve them? How do your values shape your dreams? 

Let's all aim to achieve them!


Promotion!

I would like to promote my ebooks that you can purchase with BCH! Other payment options are still in process. 

These ebooks are written in Taglish and proceeds will go directly to my wedding fund, yay! My ebooks are worth Php50.00 (~$1.00) but if you get both, you'll get them for just Php90.00 (less than $2.00). Thank you!


Hi, I am Marts! Aside from read.cash, I also run my blog - martsvalenzuela.com. I plan on growing my readership while learning to improve my craft and journey towards my passion to write and publish books that add value to people.

Carpe Diem!

3
$ 4.33
$ 4.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Momentswithmatti
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

Comments