My Dream to Become a Published Author

10 38
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Dream, Goals, Writing, Blog, Story, ...

I've always wanted to be a published author. 

I remember forging this dream when I first read classic novels from Charles Dickens, Jules Verne, Edgar Allan Poe, and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, among others, during high school. My imagination grew as I visualized cultures, places, and amazing people painted through words. But classics are classics - they imbibe a distinct wavelength that overwhelmed the novice me.  

Soon I was introduced to J.K. Rowling and her magical world of wizards and their magic wands. The Harry Potter series led me to write my short story about a brave knight fighting dragons to save his lover. The story was a cliche, but every writer will agree that everything penned out of imagination is special. 

During the pop culture wave of teen-oriented shows "Click" and "G-Mik" and their predecessors TGIS and "Tabing Ilog," I was inspired to write a novel on the same genre. My characters were the people I regularly converse with; their dialogues were born out of my impressions of them. Too bad there was no Wattpad then. I may have created an account to immortalize every chapter back then. But I guess it would be too cringe to read them now. 

Photo Credits: Unsplash.com

A piece of string

However, the piece I remember the most is my short story entitled "A Piece of String." It was a story of childhood lovers who need to separate because of necessity. They promised one another that they keep in touch and wait for one another until destiny permits them to be together again. They signified their promise with a piece of string. It may not be that exceptional, but it meant the world to them. 

But as the time came when the guy was about to surprise the girl, he discovered that she was already committed to somebody else. He thought that the piece of string he kept for years ended up useless. He was devastated. He chose to walk away.

He left without asking the girl's side of the story. 

Rejection and Transition

I intentionally kept the story hanging and open-ended. I thought it was clever to have it that way. I had the chance to have it read by my high school crush. But just like the guy in my story, I ended up feeling devastated. She didn't seem to care. She thought that my story is too shallow. I failed to impress her.  

I remember that piece was the last of the stories I wrote. And soon, I discovered political and social commentaries seasoned with humor. I became an instant fan of Bob Ong and his witty banter and thought-provoking ideas. With my growing interest in social issues, I slowly learn to adapt his writing style. But of course, I can't be as good as him because my jokes often fall flat and my humor sometimes feels forced. Among the articles I wrote on which I tackled social issues, I titled "Pilapinas" - the long lines we suffer from regularly is a symptom of a greater societal problem; and "Jeepney Stories" - my humorous attempt to identify and describe the kind of passengers we encounter on our daily jeepney commute. These were published on our campus paper on which I served as a writer and an editor. How I wish I could still retrieve a copy of my published articles.

Photo Credits: Unsplash.com

Still Dreaming

If you have read one of the earliest posts I published here on read.cash, I wrote about my Journey as a Writer. To make a long story short, somehow, I had an opportunity to co-write devotional book care of my writing mentor, Ptr. Ronald Molmisa. It feels surreal to see your name on the cover of a printed book. I will always be grateful for the opportunity. 

But still, my dream of becoming a published author never stops. I am far from being an excellent writer. I still have a LARGE and SPACIOUS room for improvement. I hate to admit it but I still feel inadequate with my command of the English language. I still suck at explaining my thoughts. I often doubt myself. 

Dreaming and convincing myself that I can make it is a daily task. But I know, someday I'll find myself holding a book with my solo name on it. A realization of dreams; a fruit of my passion to write. 

Sad note

Again, how I wish I could still retrieve my previous works. But because of frequent floodings in my city, the manuscripts, campus paper clippings, and even soft copies stored on previous computers are already gone. 

Promotion!

I would like to promote my ebooks that you can pay for with BCH! As of now, the only payment channel I have is the BCH payment channel. Other payment options are still in process. 

These ebooks are written in Taglish and proceeds will go directly to my wedding fund, yay! My ebooks are worth Php50.00 (~$1.00) but if you get both, you'll get them for just Php90.00 (less than $2.00). Thank you!

Or, you may purchase our devotional book, "Kaya Ko Pa Bes! and Other Lies I Tell Myself" on Shopee, Lazada and OMF Literature.


Hi, I am Marts! Aside from read.cash, I also run my blog - martsvalenzuela.com. I plan on growing my readership while learning to improve my craft and journey towards my passion to write and publish books that add value to people.

Carpe Diem!

4
$ 5.23
$ 4.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @Meyzee
+ 2
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Dream, Goals, Writing, Blog, Story, ...

Comments

Uy pede ba as pdf ang ebook mo sir! Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung ebooks, yes naka-pdf naman sila :) yung naka-list sa shopee and lazada, hindi e :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh pano bilihin yung first 2 muna! Haha yung 2$ in bch! Haha 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha click mo lang yung link, tapos purchase/pay with BCH :) may QR code na lalabas dun :)

Wag naman 2BCH ibayad mo! Hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahha! Awit 😆😆😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pumasok ba? :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Galing nyo po pala.. Ebook writer dn pla.. Makakamit mo rn ang gusto mo someday 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Thank you for the well-wishes :) I appreciate it. Hehe. And thank you for the sponsorship too! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

but every writer will agree that everything penned out of imagination is special.

Sir Marts! I'm here to cheer you up! ay, mas bet ko ang CHAIR UP 😂🤭 sa ganda po ng sinabi niyo wala na ako masabi eh. Nakaka inspire po talaga💗💗💗 Pa shanghai po kayo sa wedding! Congratulations in advance😻😻😻

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha thanks beh! December next year pa, God-willing. Tagal pa, pero need na mag-prepare nang maaga. haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago