Life Goes On Even After the Pain

2 29
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

For a whole week, my normal life came to a halt. It began when my uncle breathed his last on August 25. More than feeling sad nor shocked, I felt -- numb. I was so overwhelmed with emotions that I didn't know how to respond to what's happening. 

But I have to think fast and rationally. By default, the task of making sure that my now deceased uncle be given the final courtesies is given to me. I reported his death. I processed his death certificate. I signed papers on the family's behalf. It was physically exhausting because I have zero experience with this.

Photo Credits: Unsplash.com

It was only when I led the prayer for his committal that found myself crying. My uncle has been with our family since I was young. I grew up with his vices and also with his childhood and love story. He is not perfect but I've experienced how thoughtful he is. And during his bedridden days, I learned a lot about family dynamics -- that each family is unique, and every member is a gift. 

Death is painful and it reminds us that our lives on earth are just temporary, unpredictable, and borrowed. Life is a precious gift, so let's make it purposeful. Our body is just a casing. To dust, we came, and to dust, we shall return. While alive let's prepare for what lies ahead, anticipating eternal fellowship with Jesus. 

First Steps to Moving On

After my uncle's cremation, my parents decided to rearrange the house. We moved some furniture, threw away some, and sold others. We are trying not to be too sentimental about it but death leaves a space that nothing can fill. No matter how we rearrange what's within, we know something feels lacking. 

Only time will tell when will this void be healed. But life goes on. Today, I went back to the office and went about my usual duties. I tried to knack some jokes with officemates, listened to stories, engrossed myself with paperwork. 

I'd like to agree with Elisabeth Kubler-Ross when she said, "The reality is that you will grieve forever. You will not ‘get over’ the loss of a loved one; you’ll learn to live with it. You will heal and you will rebuild yourself around the loss you have suffered. You will be whole again but you will never be the same. Nor should you be the same nor would you want to."

I am not rushing things. I'd like to savor the grief process. When people say it's OK to not be OK, I believe them. I know the truth and the wisdom behind it. It's not every day when the memories of love and laughter and silly stories flashback before you, demanding your attention. I'm pretty sure this too shall pass, but while the memories are still fresh, I'll cherish it as long as it's healthy and expedient. 


Promotion!

I would like to promote my ebooks that you can purchase with BCH! Other payment options are still in process. 

These ebooks are written in Taglish and proceeds will go directly to my wedding fund, yay! My ebooks are worth Php50.00 (~$1.00) but if you get both, you'll get them for just Php90.00 (less than $2.00). Thank you!


Hi, I am Marts! Aside from read.cash, I also run my blog - martsvalenzuela.com. I plan on growing my readership while learning to improve my craft and journey towards my passion to write and publish books that add value to people.

Carpe Diem!

5
$ 2.78
$ 2.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Momentswithmatti
$ 0.02 from @charmingcherry08
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

aww.. condolences to you and your family. indeed death can make us think and examine our life again...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. It was even mentioned in the Bible, it's better to go to the house of mourning than in the house of feasting. Maybe that's the reason why.

Thanks madam!

$ 0.00
2 years ago