Don't Leave it all to Fate: The Importance of Strategy In Organizations

0 25
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

I just finished watching Justice League Dark: Apokolips War and it kinda gave me an Avengers: Endgame feels. Of course, it lacked the cinema-environment thrill since I am just watching on my mobile phone, but still, I love the story continuity. Apokolips War is the 16th installment and the culmination of DC's New 52 films. 

What drove me to write this article is Batman's grand contingency plan in their attack. I do not like to go into the details so as not to bore you and not to spoil those who are planning to watch the movie, but I am impressed how Batman was fleshed out as a strategist, not just in Apokolips War but in the whole movie series. In fact, he can even be considered at par with the superpowered heroes because of his strategic ability. 

Photo Credits: Unsplash.com

Enough with the comic book stuff. Let's discuss the importance of strategy and planning for the eventual success of teams and organizations. 

It sets DIRECTION and establishes PRIORITIES for your organization.

Developing a strategy takes the time and commitment of leading people in your organization. It is not only necessary but critical to the long-term success and health of organizations. 

A strategy gives everyone a sense of direction. When people are clueless about where to go, things will end up a mess. They will do whatever they think is best, which may not always be the case. But with strategies implemented, people know where they are going and what they should do. 

It gets everyone in your organization on the same PAGE.

When people are on the same page, they act as a team. They know who is in charge and who is accountable to whom. They speak the same language. They push towards a common goal. No one must work for his benefit or pursue his agenda. This is made possible when there is a clear strategy and plans implemented. They know that they are more than just individuals but a part of a bigger team. 

Strategy SIMPLIFIES decision making.

When a strategy is implemented, people know their roles, and they should play their part. This way, decision-making is made simple because everyone is given a place to function to. Without a strategy, people will listen to someone with an influential voice or someone with a strong personality, or someone they just feel like to. But when a strategy is in place, decisions come from whom it must come. Simple.

A strategy drives ALIGNMENT.

Think of the ants working towards a common goal and following an identified system. Some work as soldier ants, some as worker ants. Some are in charge of the nursery and some gather food for the colony. Resources are fully utilized and skills and abilities are put into use. Without a clear strategy, skill sets are wasted and so as resources. Same with human organizations and teams. When a strategy is in place, people and material resources are in alignment with where they should go and how they should go. 

It helps you CLARIFY and COMMUNICATE the message.

Even when you have the best team in the world and the amplest resources available, but without a clear plan and strategy on how to reach your goals, you are still not going anywhere. You need to communicate your goals clearly and understandably. This is possible when you have a strategy in place. You do not just shoot anywhere. Action plans should not be vague nor cryptic. It should be clear enough for every role player to understand. And when you have a strategy at play, at least your team will know what you are trying to accomplish.  

Never have I thought that I'll be able to write a blog just right after watching an animated movie. Haha! It was fun. I'd like to end with this: don't leave things to fate. Be strategic. Booyah!


Hi, I am Marts! I am a writer, and aside from my stint here in read.cash, I also have my own blog - martsvalenzuela.com. I appreciate it if you pay me a visit! I plan on growing my readership as I learn to improve my craft and journey towards my passion to write and publish books that add value to people.

Let's rock! 

3
$ 8.31
$ 8.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @charmingcherry08
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
2 years ago

Comments