Marky Stories: Old Clock

0 29
Avatar for MarkyDaily
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Story, Experience

Whenever I go on vacation in our province, I stay at the ancestral house of our family located outside a town in the province of Quezon. Although our ancestor’s house was very old, the lower part was made of stone and cement and the upper part was made of wood, it remained strong in the face of the challenges of the times.

"Cousin Rommel, we thought you weren't coming", said my cousin Girlie. "You're the only one who hasn't visited our ancestral house since Lola Orang died."

"Because I'm busy at work so I just got back here", I replied. "And it's unlucky for me to go, I'm the only man in our cousin to come here!"

"You're really the only man because Harry texted me that he couldn't come," said Luisa, another of our cousins ​​who often vacationed in the old house.

And just like we used to meet in the old house where Lola Orang was the last to live with our elderly relatives, we shared the cooked food of Nana Openg, caretaker of the ancestral house. After a hearty meal, we had fun tasting the sling wine in a large bottle vessel called damawana.

"The sling wine is delicious and tasty", said Agnes, another of our cousins.

"The taste and flavor of the sling is really unique because it is made of coconut juice", I explained to my cousins ​​like me, who come from Metro Manila.

After a few rounds of the glass we used to drink the sling wine, we decided to go to bed to catch our breath to carry out our other plans of meeting at the ancestral house. And because, my female cousins ​​were afraid to spend the night in Grandma Orang’s bedroom, I decided to sleep there.

"If Lola Orang were alive, her old clock would definitely still be working," I said looking at the thing belonging to Lola Orang hanging on the wall.

After drinking slingshot alcohol, we slept for a while in the big bed of our elderly relative who owned the old clock. But a strange event occurred in the old clock that woke me up, it gave twelve bellows as a hint that midnight had arrived.

"How did that happen?" I asked while looking at the old clock that because it was no longer checked, the three hands stopped spinning. "Certainly, Lola Orang's soul did the strange event that happened on the old clock."

Because I was not intimidated by paranormal events, the message that Lola Orang wanted to convey to her relatives who were vacationing at the ancestral house flashed through my brain. So I picked up the old clock hanging on the wall that created twelve noises as an indication that midnight had arrived and was tuned to function in the normal event.

The next day, my cousins' hair stood on end as I recounted the strange event that had taken place on Grandma Orang's old clock. But the incident did not cause us to cut the vacation at the ancestral house as we always do during summer vacation.


I have a belief that every writer eventually finds their voice as a writer. We start out in this beautiful moment where everything is possible. As newbies, we’re in it for the stories — not for the complexities of the market. Every good story starts with a spark of inspiration, an idea. What matters to the new writer is not who is going to read that thing, but instead crafting that idea into something people will want to read. Marky stories are not only for children, but adult may want to read this also as if the stories have love, fiction, epic and many more, I'm not only focusing in one theme, because every day, readers want something new, something that is not published before.


Enjoy reading?

Please subscribe it's free and you can also change your mind, if you want to read more please kindly visit my website here: https://markydaily.weebly.com/

Support me via these awesome platforms!;
Read.Cash: https://read.cash/@MarkyDaily
Lbry.Tv: @MarkyDaily


Want to send a letter?

Follow me on noise.cash and comment on the latest post here: https://noise.cash/post/1gmz0jk1

3
$ 3.67
$ 3.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @GuyFromNowhere
Sponsors of MarkyDaily
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MarkyDaily
3 years ago
Topics: Life, Story, Experience

Comments