Marky Stories: Ancient Soul

0 19
Avatar for MarkyDaily
3 years ago

According to the history of the province, the indigenous Kabihug people were the first people to live in Camarines Norte, formerly called Abiyan but now called Kabihug. Kabihug belong to the Ita race so they have dark skin, curly hair but low and small in their half live in different provinces of the Philippines.

" Pagrot "is what you heard", said Nana Nelia, my father's cousin when I recounted the incident that I was very surprised while resting on a part of our land in barangay Pag-asa, Labo town, Camarines Norte.

"You're not kidding, inherited?" I seriously urirat to my father's cousin-cousin who also lived in the said barangay not far from our land.

“I believe what I am saying, nephew. Pagrot is what you heard because you are not the only one who told me about the strange noise that is heard in part of your land in Talapsuan ”, replied my father's cousin again, calling barangay Pag-asa by its former name.

"I will not be mistaken because I have heard many times the noise created by the soul of Abiyan", added Nana Nelia who used the term Abiyan where she met the native Kabihug.

"Fortunately, the soul of Kabihug did not show me", I replied feeling horrible because I was alone in my place where I heard the beating.

I was living in Malabon City, Metro Manila when this experience took place when I returned to the barangay that temporarily became our family's home in the early 60s. I was currently doing research on the traditions and culture of the indigenous Kabihug people, 2005 to 2007 entitled “Ita ng Camarines Norte” and “Ethnography of Kabihug” my projects with the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA).

According to Nana Nelia, the so-called noise created by the soul of the native Kabihug can be compared to the strong evaporation of bad air in the human stomach called "flatulence". Based on the explanation of my father's cousin, the soul of the Kabihugs does this as a sign of temporary residence in the place where they have lived or been buried for a long time.

According to my father Lorenzo Sr., the natives made part of our land a home where I heard the strange noise created by the soul of the indigenous Kabihug called pagrot. Although there are no signs in our land where the Kabihug natives built their little house called botokan, my father was right because I saw them when I was young and our family lived in the area.

Although a long time has passed, from time to time, I would like to return to our land in barangay Pag-asa to hear again the noise created by the soul of the native Kabihug, the pagrot. Noise when I first heard, I was shocked and tried to find out the story as part of the social research I was conducting on the tradition and culture of the aforementioned indigenous people.


I have a belief that every writer eventually finds their voice as a writer. We start out in this beautiful moment where everything is possible. As newbies, we’re in it for the stories — not for the complexities of the market. Every good story starts with a spark of inspiration, an idea. What matters to the new writer is not who is going to read that thing, but instead crafting that idea into something people will want to read. Marky stories are not only for children, but adult may want to read this also as if the stories have love, fiction, epic and many more, I'm not only focusing in one theme, because every day, readers want something new, something that is not published before.


Enjoy reading?

Please subscribe it's free and you can also change your mind, if you want to read more please kindly visit my website here: https://markydaily.weebly.com/

Support me via these awesome platforms!;
Read.Cash: https://read.cash/@MarkyDaily
Lbry.Tv: @MarkyDaily


Want to send a letter?

Follow me on noise.cash and comment on the latest post here: https://noise.cash/post/1gmz0jk1

2
$ 2.01
$ 2.00 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @GuyFromNowhere
Sponsors of MarkyDaily
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MarkyDaily
3 years ago

Comments