The Doll

1 16
Avatar for Marilyn
3 years ago

It was day but the cloudy sky brought darkness to my room. I had worked all morning up until the sun went down. I live in a dormitory since the university is too far from home. Ever since I started college, I was living alone.

The dormitory seemed nice as a room for two. When I entered my second year in college, the landlady decided to put another bed in the room. It was okay for me since the expenses will split. I met my roommate exactly after two weeks of classes. Her name is Clay. She was actually pretty nice. But as I thought everything seemed normal, things started to haunt me.

I was on the edge of finishing my school works. I never wanted to rush things so I made the papers even though it's submission was 10 am tomorrow. The time was 11:32 in the evening. Someone knocked on the door and I thought maybe Clay is here. Boy, was I grateful because it seemed so scary in here. When I opened the door, her clothes were somehow wet, she was faving down and her hood was covering her head so I barely see her face. I said Hi, like I always do when she gets home, but this time, all I got was a nod as a reply from her. I thought maybe she's just really tired. I went back to my papers and finished it. When I fixed my things, I noticed her laying on her bed, in deep sleep. I started to become nervous since she doesn't really go to sleep that fast. She usually scroll through social media first then after she will bid Good night to me. I thought at that time, this is not normal. But then I thought as well, maybe she is really really tired. I was supposed to clean up before going to bed but since I was already sleepy, I just climbed to bed and sleep.

I was woken up by a thunder. I checked the time and it was 3:05 am. I thought to myself, I should really go to sleep since I have a 9:00 am class. But as I was about to close my close, I saw Clay sitting on her bed and the darkness covers her whole body. Now I know that it is really rainy and of course, it's still dark that time, but something inside me tells me that this girl I'm looking to right now is not my roommate. I was starting to get frightened at that time. Then I noticed that she was holding something. It was her doll.

That doll was always with her whenever she sleeps. She always hugs the doll everytime she goes to bed. But then I remembered that when I saw her in her bed sleeping when I was fixing my things, the doll wasn't in her arms. I knew that something strange is happening but what can I do? It was raining back then and I have nowhere to go. I decided to call someone, maybe my mom or the landlady. But then I can't move in that moment. I wanted to scream but I couldn't. I can't move my lips, even my eyes so I can look at somewhere else. My eyes were glued on her and all I do was blink and breathe. Thunders and lightnings makes the situation even worse. I then decided to just close my eyes and pray that please I want to get out of this situation. Another thunder was heard and the next thing I knew was I went back to sleep and was awaken by sunlight in the day.

I was feeling dizzy at that time and the first that went to me was to remember everything that happened. I quickly looked at Clay's bed but she wasn't there. But her doll was! Laying down and looking at me!

I really wanted to get out of that apartment so I can breathe properly. I quickly went to the bathroom, dressed up in there and grabbed my things. When I set foot in the university, I was calm but still in question for everything that happened.

(Part 2 is coming)

6
$ 0.11
$ 0.11 from @Telesfor
Sponsors of Marilyn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marilyn
3 years ago

Comments

I wonder if you make a story out of it or more telling about your experiences. There are some really strong parts in it but it loses the "story part" the more I read on.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The next thing I knew was I went back to sleep and was awaken by sunlight in the day.

$ 0.00
3 years ago