Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark Movie Review

1 15
Avatar for Marilyn
3 years ago

A Guillermo Del Toro film that talks about four teenagers, who found a book in an abandoned house during a Halloween night out, seemed to be a typical story but it’s actually not. The story sets back in the 1960’s, clothing, styles and things were portrayed and acted well. Another film from my one of my favorite directors who at first I thought will be exciting to the moon and back. And it did well for me. Maybe some people will say it’s not scary at all. But the thing I point out the most since I like to watch horror flicks, rather than other genres, the story and how it was acted out is what matters the most.

WARNING: SPOILERS TO BE SPILLED

At first, as read on the title, I was expecting different stories in one movie like a local film in the Philippines, Shake, Rattle and Roll, which has three different stories all in one film. But I was wrong when the scene got into where those four teenagers namely Stella, Ramon, Auggie and Chuck who found a cursed book owned by Sarah Bellows were stories were written by blood and Stella read it in the first night. As scenes goes on, the movie didn’t made a lot of questions for me. It was not really a predictable movie. But it didn’t quite make me think of what’s to come. The first story happened with Tommy who was replaced as the scarecrow in their fields. That scene alone was shocking to be honest. It was nice but I just hoped it to be longer. The next one happened to Auggie, who awfully and disgustingly ate a piece of toe from a monster who he was so scared of. It hit a different vibe by the way. Not that shocking but is good to be honest. Ruth, the sister of Chuck, was the next victim but managed to survive. Chuck on the other hand didn’t as he was trapped inside a monster. Stella and Ramon achieved to get rid of the curse when they had the chance to know the real story behind Sarah and Stella herself succeeded in convincing Sarah to stop everything in exchange that they will tell the neighborhood about the truth.

I like the idea of how the story was made and that it didn’t go around the bush which most horror movies make as a mistake. I actually hate it when scenes don’t go together. I have watched a lot of movies, not just in the horror genre, that have scenes that, I think, were just put to add a bit of time to the whole movie. Not that I’m judging movies like that, but it kind of takes of the high quality of the movie. This movie also somehow made very good lessons to audience. First and foremost is to never ever steal from the dead, whether you believe in superstitions or not. The second and probably the most important thing is friendship. Just like a married couple, you with your friends are until death do you part.

5
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Marilyn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marilyn
3 years ago

Comments

I think it's a great movie. I love to watch also horror movies but my mother didn't want to watch me a horror movie because i am a kind of audience or watcher that scream very loud 😂 and when i'm with someone watching horror like my mom. She always hit me because even she didn't feel any shock or startle but when i scream she scream too hahaha 😂 Then after she scream i always laughing and she always angry and hitting me and tell to me that "go! Don't Watch it, you always scream! You crazy! " and i was just like 😂😂😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago