Mama Movie Review

1 5
Avatar for Marilyn
3 years ago

As a movie fanatic, I love watching entertainment news and shows, even awards night, which brings update to me to the film industry. The Oscars is one of the most prestigious awards ever to be made so I often watch it, even if it’s not live anymore when I do. Once, the Best Director award wen t to Guillermo Del Toro. I thought at that time that he deserved as I watched The Shape of Water and it was really amazing. I went on to search for his other movies and a movie called Mama caught my eye. It was not directed by him but he was the Executive Producer of it. For me, since he is a critically acclaimed director, he would not take risk if the movie was not a good horror film as his name was attached to it.

I think I’ve already seen a dubbed version of this one but I’m not one of those people who like to see movies dubbed. I prefer the original so I can watch it properly so every scene establish the amount of pressure it emits.

Mama is a 2013 horror or thriller film that talks about two orphans or two daughters whose parents were already dead that were adopted by a couple to be their children. At the start of the film, I can already sense a similar vibes to other horror films I watched before. It was not that scary though some scenes bring fright and scare. There were scenes also that bring jumps to the audience. I kind of like how each scene was portrayed and how the actors were really into their characters. The younger girl in the story was kind of a question to me. Like why her character behaves like that. Like she was a crazy girl. She was walking in her feet and arms. She sleeps underneath the bed and is eating her meal on the floor.

The movie goes on and as the story went on, I start to question if a certain soul was controlling the younger girl. The older girl was kind of normal with her glasses on. There was a scene where the father gave her the glasses and she started to behave normally. Although it’s kind of a sci-fi thing for me since I think if you want to make a horror movie, it has to be realistic. Though monsters are not real (for some), films like that should have at least a true-to-life convincing plot.

In terms of the cinematography, it was done properly. It was not that award-winning for me but for a horror movie fan, it is remarkable. Camera angles were done right though for some scenes, they are not.

By the way, the movie is worth-watching. It got this astonishing plot line that depicts the true story. Though I was kind of not happy with the ending, it was a good-enough ending per see.

Go and see for yourself but it is recommendable to watch it on daylight, if ever you’re afraid of the dark. It will not bring you nightmares but if you don’t want to be scared, better watch it safely.

4
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Marilyn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marilyn
3 years ago

Comments

I really love this movie even it always startled me and sream so loud. The movie plot of the story is very interesting. There's love but love obsession to the 2 children. Sadly, the little one who really the monster mama took by the monster mama. I'm very sad to the struggle that mama faced before.

$ 0.00
3 years ago