In The Tall Grass Movie Review

1 18
Avatar for Marilyn
3 years ago

A story based on a novel by one of the greatest authors, Stephen King, and Joe Hill that is about a sister and her brother or DeMuth siblings who were called by a voice in a field with tall grasses. I admit that I was kind of excited and interested in hearing it at first. I’m a big fan of Stephen King ever since I read his book Carrie. So when the hit movie IT entered the cinema, I was expecting new movies to come under his name.

At first, In the Tall Grass was not really having the thriller film I was expecting. But as I was looking deeper in the movie itself as well as the other stuff like cinematography, the acting and setting, it really has the chilling vibe. It might not be that interesting at first but as the story goes on; there are a lot of questions that will pop up in your mind.

First question that I had was with the boy named Tobin. I didn’t have a specific question but it’s all about how in the world did the boy got in there. Though the answer was when his dog came in that grass, the mysterious thing was still with him the dog itself. There was something about the grass that was never tackled in the story. I was kind of bothered by the boy at first but then when his dad came on, my worry went into him. The dad was acting a bit strange actually.

The second question was obviously was with his dad. The dad of Tobin, Ross Humboldt, was really bloodcurdling. Although he helped save Becky DeMuth when she lost her breathe, he was as scary as a murderer. He was acting bizarre compared to where a scene where he was calling someone. He was normal in there but then something happened.

Personally, if I was trapped in that scary looking tall grass, I find it easy to trace my steps back. But if that grass is not as normal as any other grasses in this world, there is no way I can find my way back. I’ve seen a lot of tall grasses in my area and it doesn’t seem that terrifying, unless of course, someone is waiting for you in there.

The rock is the most unexplained thing in the movie. I was completely looking in all scenes in the movie where a wide shot is formed and I can’t really see the rock. Although there were scenes that you can see it, some scenes don’t have it. Ross said that if you touched the rock, you will become more powerful than you ever were. In which I think is actually true but it will depend if you want it to use as a positive vibe or for evil things.

At the end of the movie, I realized something from the film. I think the field is not really a field. More on it is like a graveyard where grasses were just formed. The grasses on the other hand looked like people from a cult and the big rock I was talking about earlier has an evil force that makes it like their demigod.

4
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @jwolf
Sponsors of Marilyn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marilyn
3 years ago

Comments

I really did not understand the story as I was watching it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago