Get Out Movie Review

0 9
Avatar for Marilyn
3 years ago

A box-office movie hit that is all about an African-American man named Chris who was invited by his girlfriend’s, Rose, family in their house. One thing I love about horror or thriller films is they tend to make the audience experience what is happening in the story. Although there are movies in other genres that make the best out of it, horror films take scenes to another level. I became a horror movie fanatic ever since I watched Chucky when I was a kid. Ever since then I started looking and watching horror films.

I will bring some spoilers for those who haven’t seen it, in case you just want to.

With Get Out, a whole new level was bought into my eyes. This is a kind of movie that brings chills and makes you question every move of the characters. It all started when Chris was invited by his Rose to go her family’s home. Though the start of the movie is when a certain black man was kidnapped by a certain guy and was placed in a car. Chris had a friend who I assume when I first saw him was a funny clown to his friend but at the same time was thoughtful to him. When Chris got to his girlfriend’s house, he was stunned by her family’s kindness to him as if he was no other person now.

The impact of racism starts there. I wondered all the time on why they were so kind to him. Though I’m not completely judging white people, but it was a complete unusual thing for them to do such things. Even if I think it was just a movie and script writers can bring their A-game to every sequence, something different is questioning me.

My question got answered when Chris was hypnotized by Rose’s mother and fall into deep sleep then woke to see his phone unplugged in the table next to him. Although it seemed a typical scene, it was not for me. The story went on until Chris met Rose’s family servants which were all black at that time. A gathering was even made and all were white except him and another guy who was the boyfriend of an old woman there.

The most alarming thing that will surprise you is when Chris found pictures of Rose with guys and a girl that will bring a scandalous thing to the movie itself.

I don’t want to spoil more, hoping for you to see for yourself. It was breathtaking all in all. It felt like a new story of a new era came up and I was happy to see new films pop up. Usually I watch local and international films that have the same plot lines. Most of the time, when you watch films like that, you can already determine the ending of them which is not really a good thing for horror movie goers. This film is a kind of movie that makes you hold on to your seat up until the last scene. Its genre was also not taken away in every camera angle. Jordan Peele, the director of the movie, did a really great job in executing the scenes to make it more realistic.

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Marilyn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marilyn
3 years ago

Comments