Child's Play Movie Review

1 9
Avatar for Marilyn
3 years ago

I still remember the first time I watched Chucky in our old family television. I watched it with my friends and my mom who by that time, we were all screaming in fear. Though most kids at that time in our town aren’t fond of watching horror flicks, I like the idea of thrills and chills and everything mysterious. It was the start of my affection towards horror movies. Ever since then, I’m more excited to see scary films and television series rather than romance or action.

Child’s Play is all about a doll that was given as a gift by mother to his son. What I like most about this film and its franchise is that it’s not the typical doll horror story that I see in a lot of horror movies. The doll is not just haunting the people around but is killing them. Though Chucky’s intention is the same in all the three movies produced, which I think for some is too boring to watch, I kind of like the journey of the doll in every movie.

I want to point out the details in this movie that I found is amazing. First is the fact that the doll is being as evil as he can be is the most fun to watch. He’s like the American version of the Filipino monster “Tiyanak”, so cute and soft outside and when he takes on his prey, he becomes evil. Chucky’s face is one of the things I admire the most when it comes to horror films. Next is the vibe of the film. The 80’s to 90’s vibe turned it more outstanding. The setting, costume design and screenplay are everything you can imagine. They helped in bringing the terror and chills in the spine to the audience. Lastly is the fact that they actually made Chucky a robot as part of the production.

I have looked into behind the scenes of the movie and I find it really surprising and interesting at the same time when they put much effort on the main character. Though I thought it was really hard to believe but kudos to the directors and producers of it. I think it also helped them throughout the production since it’s hard for dolls to move, unless they can. Because as I watched and heard from many articles, Chucky was based on a certain doll that I forgot where could he be but I know it was a museum. Thank the heavens above that it is sealed like the real Annabelle doll. Startling to say, it is hard for me to look at dolls. I’m not really that scared but seeing them for a long time is already startling.

The ending of the movie is the most entertaining and alarming to watch. Imagine having a possessed doll that you already burned and shot several times and it still moving. I was told before about a myth that a curse never dies and I can probably say it is really true. Looking into many horror films in this generation and also to the past ones, they are all carrying that same myth.

5
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @jwolf
Sponsors of Marilyn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marilyn
3 years ago

Comments

I used to get so scared while watching this movie as a kid. Chucky was such a manipulative doll 😂. Still scares me a bit

$ 0.00
3 years ago