Annabelle Movie Review

0 13
Avatar for Marilyn
3 years ago

I admit that when a new horror film that is about the possessed doll from The Conjuring will hit the cinemas, I was expecting that it will be a back story of it. But when my friend told me that it was a different story based on the trailer, I was excited to see it in the cinemas. I think all movie fans seemed to have their own vision of what will be the look of the movie, and somehow I’m one of them. I had a vision of this movie as like a little girl that will found the doll someplace else then the evil events will start there. But I felt relieved when it was different.

This movie is the type of movie that you thought you know will be the next move but you don’t. I had many details that I find is very interesting and I want to point it all out. First were the three teenagers at the start of the film who were also in the Conjuring. Although, there was no explanation why they were there but I kind of like the fact that the story didn’t jumped to the main story. It clearly defines that the movie has more to go. And they are like; the fans will still have questions so we just have to not totally end this movie.

The second is the way the Mia has an obsession for dolls. Although most people has obsession with dolls when we were kids but I find it not normal for a big girl to do so. So when her husband gave Annabelle as a gift, I thought she’s going to throw it. Because mind you, that doll was totally different from her collections. And I think that from that concept, the story gave the idea that there was something about the doll. Because if the movie was not named after the doll, and was titled otherwise, I would have thought that it will be all about the gifted doll.

Finally, I want to point out the evilness possession. Most stories are clear that evil can be vanished through prayers of the servants of God. So when the priest went on to get the doll to be placed in the church, I was not expecting him to die so the doll will not go inside the holy hall. I find it slightly not good for kids to think. But since this is just a fictional story, it’s okay, unless it’s not fiction.

All in all, I really like the movie. I think that it created more impact to the horror franchise of The Conjuring. The way Annabelle was portrayed and done in the first film was actually amazing. It was not that scary as I was expecting but the story was not what I expected. And because of that, it raised my honor and salute to horror flicks. I think audience should start realizing that horror flicks are not just made to scare you, they also tell stories and lessons where you can learn new things that will help you in the near future.

3
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @jwolf
Sponsors of Marilyn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marilyn
3 years ago

Comments