You are my Sunshine

5 29
Avatar for MarielB22
2 years ago

The old song came to my mind this morning and I began singing and humming it to myself. "You are my sunshine, my only sunshine. You make me happy, whens skies are gray..."

I am grateful to have been born and raised in the #Philippines. Many of our countrymen want to leave and some make plans to work as OFW's or flee to the UK or the USA. Many have already done so illegally and ruined the visa process for most of the rest us Filipinos.

Me? I have an opportunity to go and live in the US now, but I am choosing, at least for the present, to remain here in #Luzon. Sure, it remains a third-world country despite what the political pundits preach, but the simple truth is that most of us live in poverty or at best, in the dwindling middle class.

Besides, I want my son to grow up with the culture of the Philippines before (and if) we move to the US.

I'm satisfied with my current status. I am not in need of anything, and even when things appear to be rather bleak, God always provides food, shelter and clothing each day. Really, what more could I ask? Riches? Power? Glory? Those are not for me, as I prefer whatever humility I am able to muster.

And why would I want to ever shun visual images like this I see almost daily?

West China Sea - August, 2021

"The light is pleasant, and it is good for the eyes to see the sun" (Ecclesiastes 11:7).

I have a great love for the small provinces, and mostly avoid the hustle, bustle and pollution of the big cities like Manila. Manila is for me a place to travel through rather than remain in, though I enjoy #BGC, what with its shopping malls, restaurants and myriad stores.

Ultimately, however, these do not bring me any sunshine, only fleeting moments of happiness, here momentarily, and then a gaze or 2,000 pesos or more later, gone in the winds of time.

My son and my family are my immediate, physical sunshine. They bring me happiness and periods of joy. These moments of sunshine are longer lasting than acquiring material goods, for they are spiritual bonds intertwined with love.

When all is considered, my greatest source of sunshine is Jesus, my Savior.

"For the Lord God is a sun and shield; The Lord gives grace and glory; No good thing does He withhold from those who walk uprightly" (Psalm 64:11).

No, I do not worship the sun...

"And beware not to lift up your eyes to heaven and see the sun and the moon and the stars, all the host of heaven, and be drawn away and worship them and serve them, those which the Lord your God has allotted to all the peoples under the whole heaven" (Deuteronomy 4:19).

...I worship the Son.

Sponsors of MarielB22
empty
empty
empty

6
$ 11.85
$ 6.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 5.50 from @Scotty17
$ 0.11 from @RazorFist
+ 2
Sponsors of MarielB22
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MarielB22
2 years ago

Comments

Sweet post. And as always, truthful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Appreciate it, Sir Scotty. Looks like rain coming here so we are headed for the beach and what's left of the sun, now. Ingat lagi, po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No problem, my pleasure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At first, I thought it was the sad song You are my sunshine, my only sunshine. You make me happy when skies are gray. 😬😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's more to it but for the sake of brevity I cut it off. It's actually a song about love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago