Party time: Dressed to the Nines

9 23
Avatar for MarielB22
2 years ago
Topics: Future, Life, Moms

There are not a lot of opportunities in my province while the powers that be continue with the lockdowns and restrictions. Short trips to buy food and other necessities are the new normal nowadays. But every once in while I take the opportunity to get out and about with my son.

Yesterday was such an occasion. My friend celebrated her 50th birthday with friends and family. She is like a second mother to me, twice my age, and is known for her generosity.

We celebrated at a beach resort a minute's walk from my home. There was plenty of food and beverages for all, and even some takeout when a person left. She must have spent 30k easily.

There was plenty of food but I won't post all the pics so you don't get overly hungry. Of course, there was a big cake and lots of balloons, and all the usual trappings.

My son and I did not linger long at the party despite the fresh air of the outdoors wafting into the resort. An abundance of people necessitates an abundance of caution. We likely stayed 90 minutes, and when more and more people arrived, we left for home.

In one of the interims during the party, we took a walk on the beach. My son wanted to give his new sunglasses a run.

Note the dog peeping my son's catwalk strut. And notice his raggedly outside playing clothes.

Why so serious, my son?

Some people were dressed to the nines. My boy dressed rather well with a new outfit I picked up from the mall.

Me? I wore a newer granny dress.

I did not wear any war paint on my face, in anticipation of getting wet if my son was inclined to run into the sea. He didn't, thankfully.

I did notice a hint of sadness in my friend's face from time to time. Was it because she had hit the big 5-0? That's what I thought. When I asked her in private at a later time, she was disappointed that many of her invited friends never bothered to show up. I understood.

The raging pandemic has done that to most of us. I haven't seen my parents and siblings since right before the virus hit, only online. I suspect most of us have experienced this in some way or another.

But in the end, we Filipinos know how to smile and even rejoice during hardships. We keep pushing on and do what we can to overcome the hurdles of life. The pandemic will pass in due course. Another trial will come our way after that, and then another and another. That's life.

I'm just thankful that I do not have to live a life in sorrow but can choose to rejoice and enjoy life while I am able. I hope you will, too.

Sponsors of MarielB22
empty
empty
empty

6
$ 13.43
$ 6.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 5.97 from @Scotty17
$ 1.05 from @RazorFist
+ 3
Sponsors of MarielB22
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MarielB22
2 years ago
Topics: Future, Life, Moms

Comments

Wow, nice pics. Looks like you two had a good time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. And yes, we certainly did.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

dressed to the nines. I loved that expression. and also that crispy lechon... YUMM!!!!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It. Was. Great.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's ... . Hmm I want lechon paksiw now. Hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can only take solace from your last statement that reads in part, " we phillipnos know how to smile in hardships". Do you k ow that this same phrase or statement by you is exactly what has been happening in our country nigeria for a very long time given our too many hardships and bad governance? We are just alike in the ugly situation my dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a lovely pair! Nice images you took. What kind of phone is that?

I haven't been to the beach in ages. I do live on a quiet lake, however.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks, sir. My phone is the latest Oppo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah, okay. Nice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago