Miss Fancy Pants Can't Dance

0 25
Avatar for MarielB22
2 years ago

The Tik Tok phenomenon is an undisputed success around the world. Like everything else in life, as far as social media is concerned, only a very small percentage of people are successful to the extent that they have amassed a modicum of wealth from the popular site. The rest of Tik Tok users are your typical run of the mill video creators with a relatively small following. As a consequence, those who are seeking fame and fortune in the latter category actually work against their best interests when "hearting" popular videos.

There is plenty of entertainment on Tik Tok but few consider its dangers.: lack of privacy, stalking, and disgusting comments or comments that bash other users. It seems anonymity provides a mechanism for rude, crude and acceptable social commentary.

Nevertheless, like millions of others, I do have a Tik Tok account, and no, I am not divulging my user name. My intent is not to gain wealth and fame but to be educated and/or entertained. I have a full time writing job so I have no desire to go live or make "sexy" videos to lure or tease men.

Most of the content on Tik Tok is amateurish in nature. For me, this is the humorous aspect of the app. I'm ever amused with women who dress scantily and who post videos of the latest dance trends. As a general observation, Miss fancy pants can't dance, but you have to laugh along and admire their willingness to share themselves in front of a potentially huge audience (providing it goes viral). Some make the mistake of uploading nude videos and using a filter to cover themselves. Unfortunately, they are blissfully unaware that perverts abound and are able to remove the filter for their own sexual satisfaction. You have been forewarned.

I've had one 22-second video go viral, receiving some 100,000 views. Oddly enough, it was a simple video of my two dogs climbing up the stairs to get a treat. It was posted over a year ago and it continues to receive hearts. Most of the videos I upload are of my dogs, my son or of the food I cook. However, the joy of making videos has waned for me. I'd rather be making money writing or seeking my entertainment elsewhere and there is a valid reason for this.

China owns Tik Tok, as most people are aware of, and they scrape your data for financial gain. This is why some countries have banned the app: privacy concerns. One of the dangers of having an account is the fact that the app is able to read your email content and access your photos and private videos. China has a superior surveillance system in place, primarily used for nefarious purposes. Therefore, if you are able, use a dummy email and do not store anything on it if you seek any semblance of privacy.

One of the reasons I have cut my time down on Tik Tok is because of its repetitive nature. It's essentially a rehash of the same dances, pranks and duets. The only thing that changes are the faces. What is more, I am embarrassed for people who are more than willing to degrade themselves for money or fame. It's like prostituting oneself.

These days I primarily stick to educational videos, but even many of these are rife with fake news and biased information. Therefore, I mainly stick to content outside of the Philippines and focus my attention on cooking videos, amazing feats, and yes, Miss fancy pants can't dance videos when I want a belly laugh.

If you are looking to become wealthy off of Tik Tok, I sincerely wish you the best of luck. The odds are certainly slim but it can be accomplished. Just be aware of what you upload, as it could come back to haunt you when seeking employment.

3
$ 12.57
$ 12.00 from @Scotty17
$ 0.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of MarielB22
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MarielB22
2 years ago

Comments