Learning to Write

3 30
Avatar for MarielB22
2 years ago

Growing up in in a very rural area had its drawbacks and advantages. We had no running water and only a small plot of farmland. But my parents were (and remain) hard workers and taught me the value of an education. I became fluent in English and my parents encouraged me to write.

I began writing comments on various online newspapers in the Philippines, critically reading the article and making an appropriate response. It was this process that trained my eye as far as grammar and plagiarism are concerned. All newspapers suffered from it.

From there I doubled down and began writing articles on Facebook, some well-received, some receiving negative feedback because people rarely want to hear the truth when a women speaks. I quickly learned to grow thicker skin.

Eventually I began writing blogs for other people but the pay in the Philippines was paltry and hardly worth my time, so I began writing for US and UK bloggers and also wrote website content. The US paid me $15 per double spaced page and the UK roughly 8 pounds. Soon I had my own apartment and furnished it.

As an avid reader from my youth, I would study how other people wrote, watched their grammar and when I came across a word I did not understand, I looked it up in a dictionary, either the one on my desk or later on, online. This worked to improve my vocabulary, a vital trait for any writer.

I quickly learned in high school what was and isn't plagiarism. This is a foul practice that, while is not necessarily illegal, can be if used to profit from it. Many people, especially politicians, have been busted for plagiarism and have lost credibility and some have even lost their jobs or had their university degree yanked.

These days I spend my mornings teaching my son how to speak and identify objects. I typically write when he naps (like now) or in the evenings. However, when a client from the US or UK emails me with a task, I jump on it immediately. If you are going to write for a living, I find there are three important rules to keep in mind:

  1. Always act professionally and politely.

  2. If you accept an offer, turn in your work to your client before or on time.

  3. Never be desperate for work, as you will not be fairly compensated.

These tips have made my writing career work over the last five years. While I still write on nearly a daily basis, I decided to join read.cash and get into crypto. As far as I am able to discern, fiat currencies will eventually fail (as history demonstrates). I'm a newbie on crypto so I'll be keeping an eye on knowledgable writers here, that is, the ones who don't plagiarize from others.

I'm thankful for the opportunity to be a part of the read.cash community. May we collectively experience at least a modicum of success.

6
$ 20.15
$ 20.00 from @Scotty17
$ 0.05 from @Mictorrani
$ 0.05 from @Bjorn
+ 1
Sponsors of MarielB22
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MarielB22
2 years ago

Comments

I see. So that's how you started. Congratulations on rising above your circumstances. Not everyone can do that. 👍👍👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome MarielB22. Your first post here holds high standard.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Great first post. I am surprised at your skills. Good luck on here, Mariel.

$ 0.00
2 years ago