The Game I Played

5 42
Avatar for MaeAntoinette
1 year ago

Last 18th of April when I had a schedule on one of the games for our summer olympics which is sungka. Here in the Philippines its a native game which is not known in this generation. Other countries have the same game too.

Southeast Asian mancalas are a subtype of mancala games predominantly found in Southeast Asia. They are known as congklak (VOS Spelling: tjongklak), congkak, congka, and dakon in Indonesia, congkak in Malaysia and Brunei, and sungkâ in the Philippines. They differ from other mancala games in that the player's store is included in the placing of the seeds. Like other mancalas, they vary widely in terms of the rules and number of holes used.

Source: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Southeast_Asian_mancala

For this new generation, many have not known this game. As for me, I have known it back when I was a kid. Everytime we had our summer vacation in my granny's place in Bohol, we are taught how to play sungka and I really enjoyed the game. It's been quite sometime that I haven't played sungka so when they said we have it in our company's summer olympics, I voluntarily nominate myself to play.

Since last week until now, I am having my nightshift schedule at work. Then we have a game scheduled this week dated 18 and 20 at 6 in the evening. I was a bit worried since my shift starts at 7 though I was determined to play and I think the game will end too soon and I was right.

It was the 18th when it feels great to get up early to attend the game before work. Though I was a bit down when the transportation ride I took was stopped by traffic enforcer due to some violation and that made me walk to the venue. Being down for the thought that I was late, I walk to the venue with my shouldera down. Yet I was a bit relieved when the game was just about to start. I put on my uniform and sit down infront of my opponent. Hmmm, it's my first time playing this game again after more than two decades.

This game is simple but needs some brainy moves in order to win. The game lasted for just 5 minutes and yes, I won. Hmmm, I guess I am lucky at 18th. 18th day of the month and 1800hours of the day. Hahaha, kinda overthinking to be lucky then. Anyways, what do you think abouth 18? Is it really a lucky number? As for me, maybe but the game still needs my own strategy to win. Perhaps, I was really lucky playing this old game. Not just it was the the 18th because it brings back more memories and so much joy to my heart as I played it. How about you? Do you have games in the past that you longed to play?

📷 Image from Unsplash

Thank you so much for reading this far. I just can't believe it, I am playing that game again. Later I have another game too, wish me luck to win.

3
$ 0.10
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
Sponsors of MaeAntoinette
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MaeAntoinette
1 year ago

Comments

Namiss ko ang Sungka sis. Lagi kami naglalaro niyan nung bata pa kami at ang saya2 ko pag naglalaro kami ng ganyan noon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nga sis.. kaya ngayon tuwang tuwa ako makalaro ulit after many years.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis. Nakakalibang yan sis. Namiss ko na yan sobra.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We also have that sungka game in our house.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow ang galing. Ako plan ko bumili para meron na sa bahay..ituro ko sa mga anak ko pandagdag past time namin..

$ 0.00
1 year ago