Donate Again

0 36
Avatar for MaeAntoinette
10 months ago

Yesterday, June 7,2023, our company had some blood letting program. It's a 2 day event for this month. Wayback then, I always donate blood every three months since our company have this activity a few times a year. I even become a galloner blood donor and have been awarded by DOH (Department of Health) and our company as well. To become a galloner blood donor is after donating blood six times or more. At that time, I have no idea about the galloner blood donor. I just want to donate blood every time I have the chance because it is also a nice feeling to help in some way.

This year, I really put in my list to be active again in donating blood as much as I am not feeling ill. Though I am afraid this year if I will pass the screening since I haven't donated blood for such a long time. Yet I am much confident that I am healthy enough to donate blood and I was happy to pass the screening. When I entered the room, I filled up a form for a few minutes and then have my weight and blood pressure. Then on the second screening, they check my hemoglobin if I proceed or not and yes I did. The specification of hemoglobin was 12 to 16 and mine was 14. Just so normal and fit to donate. Thus I proceed to the final station, donate blood.

I took some shots during the process. The nurse even offer to be my photographer if I wanted a full shots but I was shy. I just answer him that I just took some shots to show my children how does it looks like while donating blood.

While waiting for my bag to be full, I just played with phone using my another hand and took more shots around the room. It only took a few minutes to have my blood bag full. I told instructed to press the needle wound and rest a bit before getting up. Also, they gave some handouts and guide on what are the best things to do after donation.

However, the best part is here, the free food. Just joking. But there is always free food after donating blood. Before as I remember, we are given boiled eggs and some milk or juices. Yesterday, I got an instant chocolate porridge cup, asado bread and a bottled mineral water. Though I only take a little bite and drink plenty of water because I had my lunch first before donating blood. At least, I have more energy and will be replenish by those fluids intake. After some rest, I went back to my building and work again. I was so glad to render overtime and never gets dizzy. It was a indeed a blessful Wednesday and my first step in getting back to become a galloner again. How about you? Have you tried donating blood? Why not? If you are healthy enough, try to donate and help save some lives. I may never know who will receive my blood but I am happy to know somehow that my blood can give chance to another lives.

Thank you for reading this far. Actually, I have been planning to write an article a few days ago because its my birth month. But I was caught up and just made another one instead.

📷 All photos are mine.

4
$ 0.11
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of MaeAntoinette
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MaeAntoinette
10 months ago

Comments