Changing Shifts

7 54
Avatar for MaeAntoinette
1 year ago
October 2, 2022 Sunday

Working on a shifting schedule is quite tiring and challenging. Dayshift is a good catch as it is the usual normal working time. While nightshift is the opposite working time where you are needed to stay awake when everyone is sleeping.

I am a full time employee who works more than 60hours a week on a shifting schedule. Normally, we change our working schedule weekly and sometimes changes due to some work related issues. So I have this two working schedule : Dayshift and Nightshift

  • Dayshift

I like having this schedule because its the normal body clock for me. I wake up early so I can take some shower and have my breakfast before leaving for work. My workplace is just about 30minutes walk from my house and I can have some ride to lessen the trip. But I really want to have breakfast at home and packed something for lunch then. I always bring lunchbag everyday because I want to save some too aside from buying more in our canteen.

However, even if I only have some short hours of sleep at night, I still feel to have more energy to work at daytime. I never feel sleepy at work especially if all are too busy with the machine and operations. Dayshift is just so right to have.

  • Nightshift

Working at night is not a problem as long as you are wide awake the whole time. But its not the normal body clock so except a different work energy then. For me, no matter how long my sleep at daylight before working at night, I still feel sleepy after midnight. Thus I drink at times coffee or I use my breaktime to take a nap to lessen my dizziness at work. Though working at night is a blessing too. Because in our workplace, the bosses are almost all in dayshift and at times only few superiors are on nightshift. So nightshift is not a lot of pressure to work for, right? Yet it is still not my preferably work schedule.

However changing of work shift is a big of a challenge don't you know? When you shift from day to night work schedule or from night to day work schedule. It is quite of an adjustment.

Changing shift of work schedules is a headache. Why? Because it is very tiring and there is no adjustment time that is enough to fit in our schedules.

After a week of dayshift work, I will have a rest day and the next day I will be working at night then. It's just as simple as 1,2,3 if we see but its not like that. Since I am from a normal body clock, the first day will be different. I cannot sleep at daylight because I have slept the night before. So going to work is a sleepy challenge. The nightshift schedule is a sleepy mode because my body still needs to adjust that I'll be awake at nighttime and sleeping at daytime.

Though the changing from nightshift to dayshift is my worst problem. After my last nightshift schedule, I surely sleep at daytime because I've been awake the whole night. Then I will have problem sleeping at night time already until I fall asleep after midnight. Yet my alarm will wake me early because I will be on a dayshift schedule again. Thus it will make me go to work feeling a bit dizzy and expecrlt more yawning. And this makes me wish too early at work that the end of shift will soon come and I can go home and sleep well then.

So its already past midnight now and still I am not sleepy. Later after a few hours I need to go to work already. But since my body clock have to adjust again, well, wish me luck on a sleepy Monday at work tomorrow. I need to force my eyes now to sleep as I am about to change work shift.

📷All images from Unsplash

Thank you for reading this far. Need to keep going this October and embrace more to life.

5
$ 0.38
$ 0.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.01 from @Kacy01
Sponsors of MaeAntoinette
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MaeAntoinette
1 year ago

Comments

I haven't worked for a night shift befirt and I don't think if I'd find it easy to cope. My body System has mastered the night for sleep and rest

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is why to some who will experience nightshift, its like getting sick because their body system have a hard time with it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakasira rin ng routine. Dati may GY ung work ko sirang sira talga tulog

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nga. Grabe talaga kapag GV..parang hinihila lagi katawan mo..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pinaka mahirap talaga yung working at night sis. Ako sis kaya di ako nag Call Center baka di kakayanin ng katawan ko sis. Takot ako.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hirap talaga kapag hindi ka sanay sis.. pero depende talaga din sa katawan..kaya vitamins ay hindi ko kinakalimutan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis malaking tulong yung vitamins kaya nagtitake din ako palagi.

$ 0.00
1 year ago