Being Concern

6 20
Avatar for MaeAntoinette
1 year ago
October 8-9, 2022

Its a very busy week while I am trying to be active with all my hustles. Drafting my previous article took me almost three days because I always end up sleeping without saving my progress. Have so much in my head to write but quite distracted.

How are you readers and co-writers? Are you a parent too like me? I am asking if you are because I am talking about some concerns on parenting a teenager.

It's more than a month since the start of classes in secondary school and my daughter is a 9th grader already. With all having internet, my daughter have a lot of group chats from school. They have one for their whole class, another one for their group which is Set B and another more for some subject. It will be fine if my daughter have a cellphone but it was broken last year. So she needs to borrow my cellphone just to check some updates in their group chats. I really wanted to buy her a new phone but its out of our budget and she understands our situations too. Anyway, it's another story.

Screenshot from her messenger

However, they know that we will check their accounts from time to time. As parents, we already inform them about it.

See the screenshot of my daughter's messenger, groupchats everywhere. Though my children knows that we check their accounts because we do follow up on some of their tasks in school too. For example, one of my daughter's subject teacher send the list of the students who did not submit their weekly task, so at least we will know too if daughter is doing her schoolworks diligently.

Though yesterday, I was furious to see one her group chat. Actually, a few days after that group chat was created, I let her left since I do not like her classmates way of trash talking yet their president add her again. Many days passed, me and hubby was just observing the group chats and check their discussions. Then hubby notice that her boys classmates seem so bully and even have some fight chats. When I check it, the boy that they bully is the son of my colleague. Of course, I am a mother and seeing those photos edited with captions seem to wake the beast in me. Then again I saw a video same of the photo while the boy is taking a nap at noonbreak. The other boys are singing and clapping their hands around the sleeping boy. So I type a message in the groupchat and let my daughter know that I will send a message in her behalf. She agreed and send.

"Basin maprincipal ta ani ha.. naa mga parents motan aw diri.. hinay hinay lang ta binuang guys.."

Translation:

"Maybe we will be called to the principal.. since there are parents who also look around here.. so let's just lessen our jokes guys.."

After I send the message they seem to stop and change their topic. Now their group chat is all about school projects and performance task. At least their mindset was change and hopefully it will really continue that way. Also I do hope no more like this incident will ever happen again or I will really go to the school teacher and principal.

Perhaps other parents never check their child's messenger account. But as parents we should be especially minor ones. Some teenagers nowadays bullies other teenagers and we should be concern about that. Or if not, it will lead to mental health issues and other problems.

📷 Lead image edited through Text on Photo

Thank you for reading this far. Sorry for the rant but I really cannot just sit and never mind those things.

5
$ 2.50
$ 2.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Coolmidwestguy
Sponsors of MaeAntoinette
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MaeAntoinette
1 year ago

Comments

Ako sis last month na open ko pa yung account ng anak ko na hindi niya alam which is alam ko hindi Tama kasi nga privacy niya yun pero out of curiosity dahil nga malayo ako sa anak ko may trust naman ako sa kanya.

And ngayon hindi ko na na monitor na log out kasi yung account ng anak ko hindi ko na ma open ulit okay sana yun kasi nababasa ko lahat ng mga group chats niya. Kasi alam muna mga kabataan ngayon need talaga nila ng guidance ng magulang kasi madali lang silang matukso sa bagay and sa mga bullying din may mga kabataan talaga mahilig mang bully na minsan dahilan sa iba para ma depressed kaya tayong mga magulang sinisigurado talaga natin ang concern natin sa kanila.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pero puidi naman sis hingin mo password. Anak ko ok lang alam namin mga password nila.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It also occurred with my friends daughter group chats , she was being bullied and it went higher to the schools principal and the students involve get sanctions they deserved. Some kids thought it's ok , they really don't know boundaries at all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes. That is why I really react before it gets serious because when I told my colleague, I know that her son have some anger issues at times.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Its better tlga n khot pano may access taung mga mgulang pra atleast updated tau s mga nangyayari s knila

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nga para alam natin ano mga ganap sa gc nila

$ 0.00
1 year ago